We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant on the river”
Review of Dara Restaurant

Dara Restaurant
Ranked #115 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant on the river”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I wanted a place to try Mekong Seaweed and this restaurant had good pictures on their menu. The seaweed (served with sticky rice) was excellent and the setting was really nice. They also served Beer Lao dark which was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and wanted to practice their English with us. It was a very relaxing way to spend the evening.

It was so enjoyable that we went back the next day for dinner which was also delicious. It was very hard to choose, however, because they had so many delicious sounding things on their menu, both local and non-local.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Creek, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Lao Food great Service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have enjoyed 2 excellent meals at DaRa This week and really loved the place. The help is quite responsive and speaks good English. Menu includes some unusual dishes. Bamboo Spring Rolls, Laap Moo, Pork and Banana Flower salad, Chicken cooked in Caramel sauce, Steaks flamed with Rum, Friend Beef Cakes, Desert sweet Papads and coconut Ice cream. Everything is well prepared and correctly seasoned. Beer Lao Dark is great too. This place is very well run and organized. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CampGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best and cheapest cocktails and beer in Luang Prabang!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This cute little place is in a great location on the river. I can't comment on the food cause I haven't eaten there yet but the pictures look delish. What I can tell you is that the service was great, the beer is cold and the cocktails are fantastic and about half price to other places we checked out. A great place for an evening libation over the river!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PozerandTdriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food - unassuming restaurant next to Mekong River”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This restaurant overlooks the Mekong River. It is an absolutely stunning location. Like all of the other restaurants in this area it sells almost everything but the quality was amazing. We have been travelling around Northern Thailand and Laos for 3 weeks and this is the best food we have eaten. Be sure to try the Mekong Seaweed - its served with Sticky Rice and you roll it up with a spicy sauce like Sushi - amazing! It is roughly in line with the cost of most of the restaurants in the area (coctails c 25,000K and main dishes c 30,000K).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Lao cuisine with superb cocktails”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were looking around for a reasonably priced restaurant, which serves local cuisine and not so expensive. This place offered us waht we needed.
Advantage
1. Reasonably priced Lao food, my favourite was the steamed fish.
2. Romantic location overlooking the Mekong, ideal during sunset.
3. Reasonably priced cocktails, and tastes good.
Disadvantage
1. Cant think of any.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dara Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Dara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing