We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Meuang Lao
Nearby Hotels
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$192
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Heritage(Luang Prabang)
$137
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
101
103
17
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
103
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning marketnational museumwet marketmekong riverthe main streetfamily runair conmain attractions areguest housequiet lanebaguettestayed here for nightshot watertwo blocksfront officelocation is greatwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 227 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in May. It is in a perfect location up a little lane from the Mekong and a stones throw from the morning wet market and the very colourful night market.
It is easy walking distance to all of Luang Prabang's many sights and of course the delightful eating and drinking places. The building is beautiful so much rose wood. Our room was clean spacious and comfortable and from one of the windows we could see the top of That Chomsi Stupa (Phousy). The staff were helpful and very laid back typical Laos style. Tea coffee and fruit continually available in reception area. They do not provide breakfast but being so close to cafes and restuarants it did not matter. Had a very pleasant stay and would stay again if ever lucky enough to get back to the beautiful Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khamsouk, Manager at Villa Meuang Lao, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your good comments and we hope to welcome you in the near future !

With best wishes,
Villa Meuang Lao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Thought not by the Mekong river, the location is relatively good. Easy to orientate and about 5-10 mintues to the main street where all the restaurants are located. Value for money. For the amount we paid, I thought the rooms were clean, spacious and well-equipped. Wifi could lapse at time but generally good. Workers at the front desk speak good English and provides good service. Much better than those we met in the main city, Vientiane.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthlingA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khamsouk, Manager at Villa Meuang Lao, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments ! and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best from Villa Meuang Lao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at Villa Meuang Lao for one week in May 2013. The hotel is a family-run local business. Location is great as it is within easy walking distance of most of Luang Prabang's sights. Morning and night markets are just around the corner. I was in a back room upstairs and there was no street noise and total privacy. Staff were keen to respond to any questions or requests. The room was spotless. The TV, air con and wifi worked well. There was fruit available at reception and purified water for refilling water bottles. I had no problems with bugs. Just wish I was back there now!

Room Tip: My room upstairs at the back of the building was very quiet and private, but the hotel is located on a narrow backstreet which has little through traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waves3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khamsouk, Manager at Villa Meuang Lao, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear,

Thank you so much for your good comments, we do appreciated and hope to see you again sometime !

Best wishes,

Villa Meuang Lao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here based solely on the high recommendations on Tripadvisor. It was a mistake.

1. Internet extremely slow on day 1. Didn't work at all on day 2. Bad internet is a deal breaker as far as I am concerned.
2. Air conditioner could not keep room cool enough.
3. Guy at the desk struggled with English. As I was leaving, I met another man at the desk who spoke very good English. But for the two days I was there, the desk attendant could only understand minimal English.
4. Location is very good.
5. Not a value for $25. Lots of nearby guesthouses for less. No reason to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EggDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khamsouk, Manager at Villa Meuang Lao, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

thank you so much for you comments and we do appreciated !

Firstly, i would like to say that : there are very few Telecom Company in Laos and specially in Luang Prabang that provide internet and it often has problem as you said, but almost the whole town will be the same as we all use the same internet company, that's why we the Fact Sheet in the room to read and get more understanding about our country, our culture and more,...

Secondly, yes, you will often find Lao people speaking Lao English that sometime hard to understand, but most of our staffs would like to practice their English, so maybe you should teach some english to our staff when you come next time.

Best from Villa Meuang Lao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

To give the driver if he does not know the hotel so he can call to get directions. My wife and I arrived at the bus terminal and shared a tuk tuk with other travellers. He knew theirs but took us to the similarly named Muong Lao. Another reviewer had mentioned that so I had written the name and ban - in English which he couldn't read. He ran out of petrol and while we waited looked up the phone number, rang it and passed the phone to him.
The location is great, no river view but less than a minutes walk, as is the morning market. Night (tourist) market, Palace museum and Phosi are two minutes. Only nine rooms, fan and ac work, they are vital.

Room Tip: Front room if you want what is effectively a private balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank UbudBaliRichard_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews