We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Meuang Lao
Nearby Hotels
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$192
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burasari Heritage(Luang Prabang)
$137
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
101
103
17
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
103
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning marketnational museumwet marketmekong riverthe main streetfamily runair conmain attractions areguest housequiet lanebaguettestayed here for nightshot watertwo blocksfront officelocation is greatwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 227 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

There was nothing we could fault about our time staying at this lovely hotel. We booked in the "off season" so the price was fantastic value. The room was clean and large. The building was beautiful and new. We booked a double, but were asked on arrival if we would prefer the upstairs twin as it was a nicer position. If you don't mind separate beds I would definitely recommend room 9, with its "own" balcony and windows all around. The staff we always helpful and friendly. Plentiful free water at reception. The price did not include breakfast, but a short wander in any direction will give you ample choices. Thank you to the staff/owners of Villa Meuang Lao for helping make our stay in Luang Prabang so wonderful by providing us with a perfect, affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 (twin beds) is at the front upstairs, with almost its own private balcony - a perfect place to people watch from
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had a twin room and it was very large and spacious. The air conditioning worked well and had lots of natural light. It was set close to the Mekong, but not on a busy road. It was walking distance to everything. The staff was nice and helpful. You have to give your key if you want your room cleaned, but there are clear signs saying that. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chewy2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Villa Meuang lao is very convernience to walking arround the markets, restaurants and temples. I like this location as well going to eat and drink some foods when feeling hungry. The couple room is clean, a litle romancetic for me and my girl friend.
I stayed here just 3 nites but its feeling good for all. I will comeback this hotel next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matto2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Meuang Lao in April for 11 days, and in that time the service was consistent, simple, and customer friendly. The location is ideal for those who wish to have walking distance to the many of the nearby attractions such as the local wet market, night market, National Museum, Phousi Hill, Slow Boat Landing and the local down town main street ( Sakkaline ) .

The rooms were kept clean and the service was always catered for with a friendly touch, such as I needed to use their one office computer several times and they accommodated without any fuss. They made allowances for an extra bed for our three young children, and they were able to accommodate one room on the Lao New Year that I had not previously booked – and this is a very busy and demanding time for rooms during the Lao New Year celebrations.

The Lao owners and workers have set a standard for others of their community to emulate for keeping the establishment clean, efficient, and honest and customer friendly. This was a more positive experience than I had at the Saynamkhan Hotel (see review on that hotel on August 06, 2012) and my Lao wife was very proud on how well they have maintained this Lao service and kept up with the maintenance of it, as many establishments tend to look tired after a while as they are often left to deteriorate over time if not maintained.

All in all, a very positive experience and for the price of the room , as compared to other similar guest houses this one stands out as being one of the better ones to stay at. Thank you Meuang staff for giving our family a no hassle stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aril12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Perfect location.The river, market and the alms giving ceremony just nearby.Our room was big with two beds,a/c, hot water and very clean.We sat in the balcony for a couple of hours and it was quiet and lovely we feel that we were really on holiday no stress.We booked for two nights but stayed for three as we really liked it.Staff were friendly and helpful and there is a free coffee downstairs.No breakfast but there's a lot of restaurants around.For the price its unbeatable.Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badsnickerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews