We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in LP”
Review of Lao Lu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lao Lu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in LP”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights while in Luang Prabang, and I wish we stayed here longer. The location is quite central, under 5 minutes to the main market on Sisavangvong Road, as well as many of the old town locations and both rivers. Very clean and tastefully decorated rooms, with a nice bathroom, AC, wifi, breakfast. All for around $12USD PP. So great. Owner was helpful. Only negative was that the main gate closes at a certain time. This was a problem when I wanted to go out late and come back.. but otherwise a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntiBrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    85
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
104
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was the first time I was traveling by myself in this region and I just tried to find a nice and safe place to stay at a reasonable price, where I can reach everything within walking distance, and Lao Lu Lodge was just everything I could ask for!

You can access the guest house either from the river side or from the night market. It's close to everything. The morning market is just right at your door step. My room was on the 2nd floor with A/C, but I would have made it just with the fan too. The setting of the place was just really cool and made you feel like home.

The breakfast was simple, but good enough. A baguette, eggs of your choice, jam, butter with tea/coffee and fresh fruit.

The staff were just nice and helpful. They welcomed all guests with smiles and all guests were happy.

Just be careful if you want to stay out late, make sure you drop your key at the reception, so that they know some people are still out, otherwise they will lock the gate for security and you might end up climbing the gate at 2.30am like I did! :D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is the best hotel that I have stayed at in 20 years of backpacking. The hotel is simple. In a quiet location, but close to the river, the morning market, the night market, the Royal Palace museum and many restaurants. The rate includes breakfast which is good. The hotel does not have a restaurant or bar, but there are plenty nearby in all price ranges (night stalls to luxury). The hotel is very popular and usually full, so it is best to book ahead.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My partner and I actually stumbled across this place by accident whilst taking a detour up an alley street near the river following a night spent in a tiny guesthouse room. Lucky for us, we enquired with reception as to room availability and they kindly informed us that another couple had just checked out and that we could check in immediately. We stayed in a big double room with a bed so comfortable I forgot I was in SE asia. The bathroom is immaculate with hot water and toilets that flush well beyond standards found elsewhere. The free breakfast everyday is extremely satisfying. The place is removed from the main roads making it very quiet. Laundry and free wifi. Free water / tea and coffee. Everything you need. But the best thing we can possibly say about this place is the friendliness and attentiveness of the wonderful staff. The two Lao men who run reception are some of the nicest people we have met in our travels and are willing to go above and beyond the call of service to make sure you are well looked after. They happily asked about our days activities each night and were genuinely interested in what we were doing. It made the stay all the more better. This is EASILY one of the nicest and best value-for-money places in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c-j-dob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was just so lucky to find the last available room in this hotel during peak season of New Year. Everything are just wonderful. I stayed in a single room which is big, nice, clean room with toilet inside and hot water. The wifi works properly. Nice sitting chairs in front of the room. I always enjoy the breakfast in the lovely sitting area in the front yard. The most important is the perfect location which is only 100m from Mekong Riverview, 50m from morning market, 200m from night market and located perfectly behind Royal Palace Museum. With all those facilities, I consider that the price in this hotel is inexpensive and very reasonable. I would certainly recommend my friend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3nd4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed with LaoLu several times. The accommodations we very clean and simple and comparatively inexpensive. They were very helpful and willing to help with any problems. For example, they arranged for a very early ride to the bus station. but when my bus was cancelled because no one going deep into the forest that day they put me up again another night. The staff are very helpful. They also have extra amenities such as a laundry service. They serve a lovely hibiscus tea and bananas too. The Lodge is not on a main road so it is very quiet. It is a block from the morning market and only a few blocks from the food and night markets. It is also a block from the river.

Room Tip: They have air-conditioned rooms but If you don't mind a room without aircon it becomes a very in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A little haven away from the bustle of the town. Lovely staff. Free tea/coffee/water and bananas available 24 hours. Nice sitting area. Comfortable, clean rooms with character and a good free breakfast. 180,000 Kip for a ground floor twin- very good value.
We were here for over a week. If you ask, they will change your sheets/towels and empty bins but they didn't clean the room or bathroom. Sure if you specifically asked, they would.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wegferund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 69 in Luang Prabang
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Lu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Lu Lodge

Property: Lao Lu Lodge
Address: Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lao Lu Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lao Lu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing