We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local experience in the most unlocal of places”

Lemongrass Sauna and Traditional Massage
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Local experience in the most unlocal of places”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the herbal sauna here- it felt good to be amongst locals doing something "everyday" in Luang Prabang, which is quaint and lovely but about 90% foreign visitors. The sauna is totally basic, but still pleasantly set down an alley with foliage and soft music. When we arrived around opening at 4pm it was really chill. By 5, it was packed with locals, some of whom shared yogurt with me (for moisturizing, not eating) and we chatted a bit. It gets really crowded so recommend coming early to have to yourself and then people watching for a bit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    6
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great, cheap way to relax”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lemongrass is a great deal if you can get past the rustic facilities. It's all wooden, open air, and the facilities are all mixed-gender except for the two small herbal steam rooms. They give you basic cloths to wrap around yourself to attempt to cover up, but they end up getting pretty soaked from the steam/sweat, so it may not be for the super modest. The steam bath is 10,000 kip (a little over $1). We also opted for an hour long full body massage for 60,000. They use curtains/sheets to create somewhat private rooms. The tables/linens seemed clean/fresh. It was probably one of the best massages we've received in Southeast Asia, particularly considering the cost.

Read our full review of Lemongrass and Luang Prabang activities at http://www.travel-cowboys.com/luang-prabang-part-i-what-to-see-do

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relax after activities in lemongrass steam room”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was referred to the place by our tour agency Jewel and couldn't be more happy. We came in December and it was chilly, so I was tired and cold in the evening. I came for lemongrass sauna and it was my personal paradise! :). I spent my evenings there before going to dinner to revive, heat up and relax my overworked muscles. Also lemongrass scent gave to all experience very pleasant twist. They also offer complimentary green tea. A must for people who love saunas.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ella_g0ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellevoetsluis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good massage”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

we came across the Lemongrass when we were wandering around and decided to give it a go. We were welcomed by the friendly owner who explained everything in English very well. Since it was hot enough for us, we decided to go for just a massage. It was a very well performed massage. The ladies who massaged us were a bit older and it felt like they had a lot of experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank grietje1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Herbal steam is interesting but depends on those with you”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just off the main street, we used only the herbal steam room (10k kip) for the experience but not the massage. Interesting but bit odd lemongrass smell, maybe colored by heavy use. Experience depends on who else is in the room chattering away loudly. Changing and shower (pail and scooper) rudimentary

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank LimCCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Sauna and Traditional Massage also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Lemongrass Sauna and Traditional Massage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing