We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)
Ranked #83 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Friendly guy,rooms are nice,comfortable for a good price.
Have not tried the dinner,but everything was friendly.staff also.
They have advised us the local places to see,etc...
Definately a good and quiet place.
Thanks John

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently travelled to Luang Prabang and I booked 5 nights at the Aham Corner Guesthouse based on the reviews here and I'm so glad I did.
I must admit I was a little aprehensive prior to arriving, you never know exactly what you're going to get. This was compounded by the fact my taxi driver didn't know where it was.
On arriving, after a little confusion (which was my fault), John (the owner) showed me to my room.
Travelling solo I don't really need a lot of space, but the room was more than ample for me to spread my stuff out. I had a room downstairs and it was clean, really comfortable bed, basic shower (with hot water) and a television (if that's what you need). All in all, the room was really comfortable.
Location is fantastic. Its close to all the sites, markets, restaurants and bars. You can walk to most places, the only time I caught a tuk tuk was to go to the airport.
John helped me with most things that I needed know and he even helped with where to go in Bangkok. He even invited me to their party to celebrate their 2nd anniversary.
Bar/Restaurant staff are great and you can not fault the service. Oh and the food is great. They only serve western food, but its still good.
I had a standard room in the low season for $20US a night and I reckon this place is fantastic.
This place is essentially a bar with a few rooms (I think 5 in total) but don't let that put you off. I
I loved my stay at Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar)
I Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is no safe in the room. After a day or so, I soon realised its not really warranted. The use o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azza1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms are nicely furnished with dark timber. It has separate toilet and shower witch is something you normally don't get at this price. The rooms have no view and there is a bit of road noise. But it gets quite late at night. I also had breakfast witch is extra and a little bit expensive for Laos. But it was well cooked and I have enjoyed it. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeproo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in the guest house in January 2013. The positives of our stay included the very personal attention we were given by the hosts John and Jenny. Nothing was too much trouble. Another highlight was the food in the restaurant. It was great to have an opportunity to eat high quality western food. John made sure to provide lots of extras when we did eat in the restaurant. The room we had was comfortable but probably a little dark. Nothing a sky light wouldn't fix. The toilet paper was the best of any hotel we stayed in during out entire stay in Thailand and Lao. Thanks John and Jenny.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizchris122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was visiting Luang Prabang after 11 years and had tried to plan everything out as meticulously as possible. Seeing the all excellent reviews for the Aussie Guest House, we booked 6 nights here. We had a great time and no regrets! The rooms are excellent and as some other people have commented, the bedding is of very high quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food served at the restaurant is excellent. High quality and reasonable prices. The staff are friendly and well trained. And their excellent service and presentation makes the dining experience a pleasure. I happily sat in the restaurant and bar for many a relaxed hour and simply read a book and enjoyed the company. John and Jenny also have a nice book library where you can find something you may not have read or even do a swap for a book you have finished.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was a blessing that I booked this guesthouse. It offers more than I ever dreamed of.
I got upgraded to a better room as an elderly couple requested for the room on the ground floor. Location of the guesthouse is great, a short walk from everywhere and the monks passes by the guesthouse in the morning.
John is super helpful and understanding when I had to delay my arrival by one day. He also gave the best advise about Luang Prabang and hooked me up with some ladies for a day trip to Kuang Si Waterfall.
I would definitely recommend staying here!!! Thanks John... :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyselleTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Wat That Guesthouse
#109 of 265 in Luang Prabang
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#56 of 265 in Luang Prabang
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakangthong 2 Friendly House
Lakangthong 2 Friendly House
#41 of 265 in Luang Prabang
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#50 of 265 in Luang Prabang
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khongsavath Guesthouse
Khongsavath Guesthouse
#66 of 265 in Luang Prabang
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabai Sabai
Sabai Sabai
#22 of 159 in Luang Prabang
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)

Address: Ban Aham, Sisouphan Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $15 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique guesthouse is situated in the heart of the old town at the base of Mt. Phousi. Several entertainment venues are within 100 metres. The guesthouse is an original Lao/French 2 story building dating back to the early 20th century. There are 3 large double rooms upstairs surrounded by wide spacious verandahs and a further 2 bedrooms on the ground floor. The guesthouse mainly caters for the mid range traveller. The rooms are beautifully furnished with all mod cons including LCD screen, fridge, reverse cycle a/c, twin showers and comfortable bedding. In June 2014 an adjoining Guesthouse was purchased and refitted to cater for the more budget minded traveller. There are 3 downstairs rooms with full ensuite and fan only. Upstairs there are four more rooms with full ensuite, fan, a/c and t.V. Reception is from 7am until 11.30Pm and overnight security service is provided. A sports bar providing direct satellite coverage of most world sporting events is on the ground floor. An adjoining modern restaurant serves western cuisine from 7am until 10.45Pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing