We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Dream Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
My Dream Boutique Resort
Ranked #3 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tias, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The staff takes care of everything, reservations,tours and room service. The place is very clean and the staff is working all the time and are always very nice. It is a real pleasure to visit this place. We absolutely loved this place. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    192
    32
    11
    2
See reviews for
171
474
97
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jan Juc, Vic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My 7 year old son particularly loved the pool, especially after a busy day of discovering beautiful Luang Prabang. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool, which was a great spot for us. We were very happy with the room itself, which was nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast was great and the staff were really lovely. We particularly loved the location as you are only a 15 minute walk into town if you take the wooden bridge across, which was an adventure in itself! I would highly recommend this resort if you don't want to be in the middle of town, but still close enough to be able to walk in and out when you want.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcnallyJanJuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just to add praise to this wonderful small resort. We enjoyed a 3 night stay here in May 2013 and couldn't have been happier. Staff were excellent, pool worth the trip over the river (not much of a chore anyway), breakfasts were great with fruit, eggs and brilliant coffee(Gaggia machine). Free bike use was a good way to explore, as was the night shuttle bus to the markets. The owner apologised for some work being carried out & mentioned that he had plans to expand.......we hope its not to the detriment of the current excellent personalised service. All up - Great value for money

Room Tip: Higher rooms have some good views from balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in My Dream resort for five nights from May 10th. It's a lovely little place, with around a dozen little separate chalets scattered around some lovely gardens with a pool with loungers in the centre. Everything was very clean, and the staff were always keen to help whenever anything was necessary. The hotel offers complimentary use of their bikes of which there were about a dozen, including a couple fitted out with child seats. Transfers to bus stations, airports and a regular shuttle bus to the centre of town are also included.

Rooms were clean and well equipped, with good air con, private balconies, a safe for valuables and everything else you'd expect from an up-market hotel. There was something of a downside to this in that the hotel only did laundry at western dry-cleaning rates (e.g. £1 for a pair of socks) while everywhere else in town was offering much more sensible rates for bulk laundry. (less than £1 per kilo).

The only (very) minor downside is that the resort is on the other side of the river from the old town. To get in to the old town is a ten minute bike rid across the bike-only bridge, or a ten minute walk over the bamboo bridge to the north, but there is a 5000 kip (50p)charge per person from the owners of the bridge between 8AM and 6PM. Outside that, it's free. The resort does offer a shuttle bus to the town centre, but as the nearest road bridge is quite a distance away, it doesn't run very regularly. But the benefit is that the resort itself is much quieter than hotels in the old city.

Breakfast was quite plentiful, with a number of western and Lao options. We didn't try dinner, but walked past as it was being served and it seemed very nice. If you're staying on this side of the river though, I can heartilly recommend Dyen Sabi and Pizza Phan Luang, which are only a minute or tow's walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OSGranite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My Dream Resort was all we hoped it would be. Situated out of town in a great setting, it's an easy walk(15 mins) or bike ride into the centre. It's quiet and comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated and the addition of a fan as well as aircon was great. The staff are all very welcoming and happy to help with any request. The free use of the bikes was really appreciated as was the sparkling clean pool. Breakfast was varied and tasty. You won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs above reception have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was looking for something special for the first few days of our stay in Laos, somewhere where we could recover from the long flight from the UK and where we could celebrate Christmas - and My Dream Resort fitted the bill perfectly. From being met at the airport, to the special Christmas Eve drinks for all the hotel guests, we felt very well-looked after all the time. The bungalow that was adapted so we could all squeeze in (2 parents and 2 girls, 13 and 11 years old), was really comfortable and the setting was lovely. It was fun walking over the rickety bridge up the road to get into downtown Luang Prabang, so even though it was a 10, 15 minute walk, that was fine. Saying that, when we had to move out and find something cheaper for the rest of our time in LP, we found somewhere more central and it was quite nice having all the busy-ness right there on our doorstep. It depends what you want, and if you're after peace and quiet and something rather special, then I can wholeheartedly recommend My Dream Resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our stay was a most memorable and enjoyable experience. I can't say enough about the hospitality of the staff at this place. I especially must thank to the front desk concierge, who was always pleasant, accommodating, and eager to assist in any request that I made. A clean and comfortable room. A great location. Well if these are the things you are asking for you will have them all if you stay at this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raimon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Dream Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Dream Boutique Resort

Property: My Dream Boutique Resort
Address: Ban Mougga Village, Mougaga Street, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — My Dream Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful garden, leading down to an uninterrupted view of the Nam Khan river, My Dream is an oasis of tranquility, just minutes from Luang Prabang's bustling town centre. Rooms and furnishings of natural woods and woven Lao fabrics blend seamlessly into lush surroundings. Sunshine streams through floor-to-ceiling glass doors, which open out to private balconies. You may choose a room in Sala, Chandara, or Latsana, or select your own bungalow – or bungalow suite. All are light, airy, and a reflection of Lao culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your My Dream Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing