We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalows are a hit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
My Dream Boutique Resort
Ranked #4 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at My Dream. The property is lovely, as are the rooms. Appreciated the mosquito netting as I am generally their "bait." Easy walk to town if the bamboo bridge hasn't washed away.
Breakfast was adequate. People were super nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
There are newer reviews for My Dream Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 3 relaxing nights at My Dream and would absolutely recommend it. The garden bungalow was lovely and the swimming pool relaxing during the afternoon heat. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, although for some English was limited. The walk to town over the bamboo bridge was quick and provided nice scenery. We usually walked into town for dinner and then took the shuttle back to the hotel afterwards. The garden is large and beautifully landscaped with two thatched pavilions that are nice to sit and read in. Although the hotel doesn't have an on-site spa they can arrange for a massage either in your room or in one of the thatched pavilions. One hour is $15 and I was very pleased with the quality.
Things we enjoyed:
-The hotel also provides very nice bikes, some with a child's seat, for free. One day we took the bikes and took the ferry across the Mekong and rode around, which was a lot of fun.
- The morning market in town, near the royal museum, was interesting and fun. The small pancakes with coconut milk are delicious.
- Watching the sunset over the Mekong. If you take the bamboo bridge over to the Luang Prabang peninsula and take a right and walk all the way to its tip there is a nicely situated bar/restaurant that provides great views of the Nham Khan and Mekong confluence. This is a spot for a drink as the sun sets.
- After the sun sets walk back on the same road and you will pass the Apsara Hotel and Restaurant. The restaurant here was excellent! This was by far our best meal in Luang Prabang. Skip the restaurant next door thats packed with people because its mentioned in Lonely Planet and eat here instead. The food was so much better at the Apsara.
- Naga Creations in town has lovely and unique jewelry.

Overall, My Dream provided a wonderful base for Luang Prabang and the rooms are a good value, especially if you book through Agoda. Its not located in town, which provides plenty of room to relax at the hotel. And its easy to either walk into town or take the hotel shuttle.

Room Tip: There are 4 garden bungalows each with a large balcony. These are roomy and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tecalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although a little out of the centre, we discovered a bamboo bridge 5 minutes away where you could walk over in 10 minutes. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are modern, well serviced, bathrooms all working, the beds were comfortable, private balconies, swimming pool and just lovely surroundings with wonderful friendly and helpful staff.. Breakfast was a delight every morning, and the coffee was out of this world. We would definitely go back here if we did this trip again. Very gracious!

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the deluxe room, the view is better, and if possible ask for a room at the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsobellaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a resort on the other side of the river, although it really takes less than 10 min by foot to reach the downtown area. It is beautiful, quite, relaxing. The people are all very kind and helpful. The rooms are fairly large and with a beautiful view on the pool or the countryside. You will need to take off your shoes when entering the room but this means that the rooms are clean. The breakfast is excellent.
A nice add on is the fact that you have to cross the river on the bamboo bridge. It is a little unsettling the first time but it becomes really fun. The front desk can fix a basket for you to take to the alms ceremony for the monks early in the morning either downtown or few minutes from the hotel. Great place and value!

Room Tip: We had the room right on top of the dining/sitting room and it was beautiful, with the view on the p...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Errico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staying in Luang Prabang for a few days, hubby and I decided to treat ourselves to a nice hotel with a pool and we found My Dream Boutique on tripadvisor (and we booked via Booking.com). Reading the reviews, we thought that it would be a good base to relax.

As we came off the 2 day slow boat from Thailand, we were met by a number of Tuk Tuk drivers who wanted 60k kip to take us to the hotel. We eventually got them down to 50k and the hotel later told us that it should have been circa 30k. The Tuk Tuk took about 15 minutes to reach the hotel as they can only go over the 'big' river bridge which is a bit out of the main area, before heading back in the direction of the town on the other side of the river. The hotel is only a short 10 minute walk over the bamboo bridge to 'Tourist' street (you are closer to town than you originally think when you get off the tuk tuk). Check in was no problem and we were shown quickly to our room. We had a couple of small issues when in the room (the mini safe was locked and the kettle did not have an adapter on it to plug it into the wall socket). We then had a bit of a mix up in the conversation with the chap on reception and we thought that we were asked to change room so we packed back up again only to be told at reception that this was not correct). Hubby was a bit tired, hungry and thirsty so naturally got animated in a Scottish kind of way. Anyhow, the hotel sorted everything out quickly and apologised for the issues and kindly offered a complimentary meal in the restaurant, which we didn't take up as hubby admitted that he probably was a bit to blame too. The hotel Manager was very good. Anyhow, after that, we enjoyed our low key stay in My Dream Boutique. Breakfast was fine and the coffee was very nice.

The pool area is a bit small and hubby wondered why they didn't just build a big pool in the lovely garden setting that they have running down to the river - you could put a big pool in with lots of loungers etc. The Garden area just isn't used to it's full potential. The hotel could even put loungers in the garden area with parasols for those who want to sunbath without those in the restaurant watching them.

Not all the rooms have a view as some reviewers note as a number of the standard rooms just look out onto the some plants and the backs of other rooms. However this was not an issue.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomnuekLuangPrabang, Owner at My Dream Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear guest,

We highly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay at MY DREAM RESORT despite some initial problems and shortcoming for which we appologise and try our very best to take up your inspiring suggestions to improve the pool and garden facilities in order to make more of our small hotel. However, also consider our limitations as we want to remain small and beautiful but nevertheless meet our esteemed customers' expectations. Anyway, to take an undisturbed sunbath away from other guests' observation you might have used the small huts at our guests' disposal down by the riverside. We are looking forward to host you again!

With Best Regards,
Mr HUNG POR
and the Management Team
here at My Dream Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staff excellent and do their very best to make sure you are happy and that you are enjoying their country.

Rooms lovely with a fabulous view of magnificent gardens. Lovely pool on property

Only 22 rooms or so, thus it is quiet and most enjoyable.

Meals excellent. Have their lunches and dinners. Very good food.

Breakfast included. You may order eggs as well as the other Laos treats offered.

Be sure to see the nearby waterfalls and caves and DO visit some remote villages to get a real flavour of the country.

Shuttle service available to town.
Shuttle to and from airport included.

Owner (Somnuek) very present on property and makes sure you enjoy everything.

Night market every evening the best night market anywhere.

On at front desk fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view. Some rooms larger than others. I had a standard room and was very happy wi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bseagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First, the location of the hotel. If you think that walking 10 to 15 minutes is a hard work for you? then this is the place for you. But there is a complimentary van which takes you to the night market every night, I believe it leaves at 7pm and returns 10pm. We stayed there 2 nights and both nights we walked back to the hotel, took us around 20 to 30 minutes. Most rooms has water views. And there is a swimming pool and I had read some comments here complaining about how green and dirty water was, actually there is nothing wrong with the swimming pool and water itself. Safe to swim :-) Breakfast was ok, not so much choice. Staff were nice and friendly. RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 68 in Luang Prabang
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Dream Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Dream Boutique Resort

Address: Ban Mougga Village, Mougaga Street, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $55 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — My Dream Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful garden, leading down to an uninterrupted view of the Nam Khan river, My Dream is an oasis of tranquility, just minutes from Luang Prabang's bustling town centre. Rooms and furnishings of natural woods and woven Lao fabrics blend seamlessly into lush surroundings. Sunshine streams through floor-to-ceiling glass doors, which open out to private balconies. You may choose a room in Sala, Chandara, or Latsana, or select your own bungalow – or bungalow suite. All are light, airy, and a reflection of Lao culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your My Dream Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing