We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
My Dream Boutique Resort
Ranked #4 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at My Dream Boutique Resort for 4 nights in October 12 it it a great hotel with nice swimming pool and great rooms. Located in a quiet area away from traffic.

The staff and Management were very friendly and helpful.
We would have loved to stay longer but hotel was fully booked.
Look forward to staying at My Dreams again in the future.
I would give this hotel 5 stars for excelence

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise8379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    204
    32
    11
    2
See reviews for
176
499
98
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A slice of Heaven.
Pure Joy.

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon trip through SE ASia and it was great. We came to Luang Prabang for a week and we broke our trip up by staying in town for a couple of nights and "out of town' for a couple of nights at My Dream. It was a great choice, only I wish that we would have stayed at my dream for the whole time. It is worth the 10 minute walk or bicycle ride, they have several great working bikes for guests to use, to stay out at this resort.

The grounds are immaculate and well gardened. The whole property is superbly clean, well up to standards and beautiful. The hotel and bungalows have been carved out of a fine garden with flowers and pathways to vistas over the river.
The rooms are well equipped with AC/ fans, great beds, clean linens, great water pressure in the showers, mini bar, all the amenities you can expect.
We had the staff get a couple of masseurs to come and give us massage in the room and they were great people with good skills.
The pool is super clean and a great spot to chill when the afternoon heat rises. There are plenty of lounge chairs with umbrellas and towels are provided. There are no pools really in the old Heritage district part of town as they are not allowed to build them now, so this was a HUGE bonus for the MY DREAM resort. It was epic to come and get cooled off in the middle of the day, you will not want to leave after you treat yourself to a dip in the cool water.
It is a wonderful place and I just wanted to stick around and relax.

The only thing I think they can do is to continue to train there staff with communication. It is nothing but constructive criticism as I am sure the place is fairly new, but we had a couple of encounters where the staff could not communicate well. We asked about massages and they said no problem confirmed, so we rode the bikes to town and enjoyed lunch. We returned and got ready for massage. At 5 pm when we were supposed to get massage, there was no one. So I went to the desk, the guy that I talked to was gone and no one knew anything about the massage. It was a bit of confusion, but like all good resorts, they wanted us to be happy, so they made phone call and arranged for the two to come "right away" in Laos time. It was handled very well all in. Again, i am sure the owner/management is going to continue to train their staff with communications and customer service.


Now, back to the great stuff.

The owner was around everyday to check in with each guest and make sure everything was perfect. He was such a gentle spirit and worked so hard to insure that each guest was having a great time. Evelyn, one of the managers also worked with my wife to ensure our trip was perfect. She emailed us from the states several times and did everything she could to make a honeymoon special. We are so thankful to these two at the My Dream.

The breakfast was set up each day in the lounge area and was wondeful. There was a large selection of food to choose from. They had juices, fresh fruit, museli/cereal and yogurt. There was some basic breads and croissants with a toaster to warm them and one day there was even fresh baked banana muffin which was very delicious. There was also some noodles or rice with vegetables each day and they would also make yummy eggs to order. They were the best cooked "fried" eggs on the trip so far. The yolks were done, but still had some nice run to them. Sounds simple, but the rest of our trip, over easy eggs were fried hard with no yolk anywhere for your bread. Plenty of good Lao coffed and tea as well.

I really could go on and on,but I will just say simply, this has to be the best place in LP to stay.

Room Tip: Bunglaows are worth the extra price if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdogg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and our views are as follows:

1) Location:
The resort is located near Luang Prabang town centre, along the river of Luang Prabang - it is about 8-10 minutes bicycle ride to the town or a short tuk-tuk ride. There are mini-markets, street food/stalls nearby the resort. The surrounding of the hotels are also very safe during the night. So, overall, not bad.

2) Environment of the Resort & Classic Room:
We love the entrance of this resort - very beautiful. The reception/breakfast area (open concept) looking nice too. Most importantly, everywhere in this resort is clean and tidy including its swimming pool and lovely huge garden/orchard.

The classic room which we stayed is clean, simple and of reasonable size (with balcony), comes with the usual 3 star hotel amenities including hair dryer. The bathroom is very unique - (back to nature kind of concept) which we all love it, a lot. Overall, it was quite good. Only complain i have is the single bed is a little too small. Most hotel/resort nowadays uses 3.5ft/4ft single bed.

3) Buffet Breakfast
The buffet breakfast is quite good and simple (mixture of western and local). Most importantly, they change some of their breakfast menu daily - very good for guest staying more than 1 night.

4) Staff & Services
The staffs and services are impressive. Although some of the staff/waiter only speaks/understand limited English, still they are very attentive, friendly and tried their best to fulfill our request etc.

5) Free Bicycle & Shuttle Service
They provide free bicycle for guest to explore the town of luang prabang. Indeed, cycling is the best option to explore the town as compared to walking. Roads are safe to cycle. They also provide free shuttle service to the night market at 7pm. Otherwise, a tuk-tuk from hotel to the town will cost you about 40,000 - 50,000 kip (USD5-USD6). not that expensive.

6) Wifi
Decent speed in our room and however, the wifi speed at the lobby area could be better.

Overall, for the price we paid, this resort seems to be a very good choice of accommodation in Luang Prabang. A nice change of environment as compared to staying in the town centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spent 5 days at my Dream Resort and really didn't want to leave. The rooms are lovely, the staff very professional and friendly without being invasive, the food great and the pool a dream with the heat of the day.
I look forward to returning and would highly recommend to anyone heading to this part of the world.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenim0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved everything about My Dream Boutique. The entire staff, the location, the room, the bed, the pool, the food, the affordable minibar, the free bikes. We took their suggestions for a river boat tour to the falls via temples and a craft village(Bananaboat Tours) and a nearby restaurant (Dyen Sabai) and they were both excellent. Stop reading this and go there!

Room Tip: The bungalows looked lovely but our room had a great view of the sunset behind the temple across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Finding a hotel that is family friendly and has a swimming pool in Luang Prabang is not that easy. Finding one that is a reasonable price on top of this is very difficult. We chose this hotel because it was the only one that had everything we wanted, so it was a ‘hope for the best’ decision - I shouldn't have worried though, My Dream Boutique Resort was an excellent hotel.

I had read that the hotel was outside of town and when we took a tuk tuk (should be 50,000 Kip) from the slow-boat we seemed to travel a long way to the hotel. In fact, the hotel is only about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the town centre (walking street) - when you walk out of the hotel turn right and go the end of the road, turn right again and walk over the old bridge (cars & tuk tuks aren't allowed on this bridge and instead have to use the new bridge, which is why it seems quite far to the hotel) and then turn right again. The town centre is 10 minutes down the road. The hotel has free bicycles, but we were happy to walk after seeing the standard of driving around the town! In the evening, they have a free shuttle bus at 7pm in to town, picking up again at 9pm, which was great and we used it every day. The hotel also provides a complimentary airport shuttle.

The hotel its self was very well designed and constructed mainly from wood. There is a nice area by reception where you have breakfast in the morning overlooking the pool. They also have a beautifully kept garden where you can sit and look at the river.
During our four days here, we stayed in 309 and had an extra bed for my girlfriend's son - the room was very nice and had its own balcony, and the bed was very comfy. We had a couple of minor hiccups during our 4 day stay, but these were sorted quickly with no fuss. I can't praise the staff highly enough, they were excellent in every way. They even gave us some croissants to take to the airport on our final day, as we couldn’t have breakfast due to having to check out at 5 am in the morning!
Overall, if you are coming to Luang Prabang, you should seriously consider staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeammeupScotty_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and enjoyed everything about the place. Attentive, friendly staff and management. Simple but pleasant rooms with super-comfy beds, excellent air conditioning, ceiling fan, and adequate amenities. Relaxing (but small) pool area. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit, a nice selection of breads and pastries, cheese, delicious hot vegetarian dishes, and eggs prepared to order. Free airport pick-up and drop-off. The location was perfect: far enough away from the noise but close enough to the center of town via a 5-minute bike ride on the complimentary bicycles. They also allow guests to use their laptop in the lobby area for free internet usage! We highly recommend the Dream Boutique for all.
RE: VISA!! Don't bother with the passport photo. They will scan your passport photo at the airport for US$1 for visa-on-arrival. Total is $37 cash.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UStrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Dream Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Dream Boutique Resort

Property: My Dream Boutique Resort
Address: Ban Mougga Village, Mougaga Street, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — My Dream Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful garden, leading down to an uninterrupted view of the Nam Khan river, My Dream is an oasis of tranquility, just minutes from Luang Prabang's bustling town centre. Rooms and furnishings of natural woods and woven Lao fabrics blend seamlessly into lush surroundings. Sunshine streams through floor-to-ceiling glass doors, which open out to private balconies. You may choose a room in Sala, Chandara, or Latsana, or select your own bungalow – or bungalow suite. All are light, airy, and a reflection of Lao culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your My Dream Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing