We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar to people watch”

Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse
Ranked #49 of 227 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent a good few hours in here watching the world go by people watching! Great spot, great service.

Thank Mrshoeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thankyou for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed spending some hours here watching the world go by. We are certainly very well situated for "street watching" to the extent that we have installed a lower bar last week to increase our seating capacity for this pastime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 295 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

food mediocre, good if you wanted six televisions blaring at you but then a sports bar so we chose wrong

Thank AlandPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thankyou for your contribution. Indeed we are a sports bar and when we have live sports then the volume is increased and as you stated not the type of place for you to come to if you are looking for a quiet lunch or dinner. Sorry that you found the food to be mediocre but of course it is a subjective test and fortunately the vast majority of our customers love the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went here because it was the only thing open and still cooking late. That was probably the best thing about the place. The back deck is way too crowded with tables, they boast sports on TV but had on music videos. We ordered pizza to share and it was awful. I can't say it tasted like anything because it was too bland to taste. The pizza was thin as cardboard with minimal sauce.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

I am sorry to read the comments of your review. We do have a lot of tables in our deck area because of customer demand and it can become overcrowded on some occasions. We certainly do "boast" live sports which are always telecast however when there is nothing live music videos are played which are enjoyed by the majority. Your comment about the pizza is at odds with other reviewers who say they are amongst the best in town. Occasionally we get an odd person come through that we just can't please regardless but that is just part of running a business so we "rock and roll" with the vast majority. Thankyou..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I both stayed in a room and had a few meals here. The rooms are new, with modern fixtures and tastefully appointed. The meals are really good pub fare. I had a couple of breakfasts, fish and chips, and a chicken pot pie I thought were all good. the staff are friendly, the owner John a welcoming Aussie fella. It's a great place to meet expats and travelers alike. Thoroughly enjoyed my time here. Thanks John! would definitely come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank duanebigsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thankyou for your very kind review and remarks regarding both our restaurant and guesthouse. We enjoyed your company over the days you were here and look forward to your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Liked the informality, the street view from the front bar is great. Home made sausage rolls are 'wow'. TV's for those needing a spots fix. Generous servings. Red and white wine protected from the heat.

Nothing to dislike. Very relaxed environment.

Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thankyou for your review and your favourable comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our sausage rolls. They are very popular. It seems you had a great time here and we look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing