We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Pizza Ever” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse

Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse
Ranked #66 of 199 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worst Pizza Ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went here because it was the only thing open and still cooking late. That was probably the best thing about the place. The back deck is way too crowded with tables, they boast sports on TV but had on music videos. We ordered pizza to share and it was awful. I can't say it tasted like anything because it was too bland to taste. The pizza was thin as cardboard with minimal sauce.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am sorry to read the comments of your review. We do have a lot of tables in our deck area because of customer demand and it can become overcrowded on some occasions. We certainly do "boast" live sports which are always telecast however when there is nothing live music videos are played which are enjoyed by the majority. Your comment about the pizza is at odds with other reviewers who say they are amongst the best in town. Occasionally we get an odd person come through that we just can't please regardless but that is just part of running a business so we "rock and roll" with the vast majority. Thankyou..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    100
    26
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Rai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I both stayed in a room and had a few meals here. The rooms are new, with modern fixtures and tastefully appointed. The meals are really good pub fare. I had a couple of breakfasts, fish and chips, and a chicken pot pie I thought were all good. the staff are friendly, the owner John a welcoming Aussie fella. It's a great place to meet expats and travelers alike. Thoroughly enjoyed my time here. Thanks John! would definitely come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank duanebigsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thankyou for your very kind review and remarks regarding both our restaurant and guesthouse. We enjoyed your company over the days you were here and look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Australian Informality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Liked the informality, the street view from the front bar is great. Home made sausage rolls are 'wow'. TV's for those needing a spots fix. Generous servings. Red and white wine protected from the heat.

Nothing to dislike. Very relaxed environment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thankyou for your review and your favourable comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our sausage rolls. They are very popular. It seems you had a great time here and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced, unspirited, easy to forget”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The selection of food is good, but the portion sizes relative to price are a sign of economic paranoia. The owner should just go ahead and provide the sides most normal restauranteurs would without being chintzy. A paltry steak sandwich on white bread with no fries or cole saw for 50,000 is akin to a salad without tomatoes. The rooms are overpriced too. I suggest a cold beer and sports, but pass on the grub or overnight accommodations. LPB has better options. Easy to find, easy to forget.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank onetwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Your review shows that you have a total ignorance of the costs of quality steak in Laos. If you did have a little knowledge you would not expect to get "sides" with it. Chips and or salads are available separately. Your comments about our rooms also displays further ignorance by yourself as you did not inspect them! Had you done so you would have seen that they are of a high class standard. Maybe you would be better off to eat noodles at the market and sleep on the riverbank given your comments on pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly Aussie Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to catch up on all the sports . Good pub food and friendly service .
The beer is cold and location is easy to find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bazkiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, sports and atmosphere provided here. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing