We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse
Ranked #73 of 226 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Came here to watch the rugby, I got a chicken and sweetcorn pie which was great! Good proper chips and good pie. I'm sure their other food is just as good.

Thank katievic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thankyou for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Aussie type food and that you also enjoyed watching live sport. We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 285 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just stopped here for a beer and it was packed, not just with Aussies. A popular place for a drink and to watch some sport although it seemed to be all European sport that was on.

Thank Rozzymelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thankyou for your contribution and we are pleased that you enjoyed out atmosphere, drinks etc. Whilst only European sports were being shown on the night be assured that Aussie Sports receive priority when telecast. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

In australia the food would be average pub food, but when you have been on the road for a few months and the thought of another curry makes you lose you appetite the aussie sports bar is just the place to get your mojo back. I stayed here so had quite a few meals and was never disappointed. It is abit pricey for lao standards(40000-60000 for mains) but you get big portion sizes so at least you are satisfied. They serve beer in an ice bucket so it stays super cold and most dishes come with there homestyle chips which are probably the best i have ever had... It is located right near hive bar on the corner.

Thank jimburns4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thankyou for your great review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our food and service. The prices for western food here in Luang Prabang is always higher than Lao food because of the content and transport charges however we do try to keep them as low as possible to remain competitive with other western style restaurants. We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had lunch here today . Really tasty pub food - had the bangers and mash , wife had chicken and corn pie with really nice homemade chips . Good atmosphere and reasonably priced . Will be back !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 54Bulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thankyou for your contribution. We are pleased that you both enjoyed our food and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Walking down the street we came across the Aussie sports bar so we decided to come back for brekky for a taste of home. Upon arrival insaw the tvs and watched the Aussies play the Poms in Union also the first thing I asked the staff was do you have Vegemite? And with a blank stare on his face I knew it was a No. So there goes my last hope of fulfilling my Vegemote craving!

We ordered a big brekky to share but again a bit of confusion with languages they brought us out one each. Not to worrie though it was still delicious and we devoured both meals.

The flags and Aussie sports play definitely make it feel a bit more like home and it was great. The only thing I could recommend is GET SOME VEGEMITE AND POSSIBLY A FEW AUSSIE BEERS :-D and it'll truly feel like you were back home :-).

In the end great food great service and I would recommend it :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thankyou for your contribution and we are pleased you enjoyed our food. I sincerely apologise for the doubling up of your breakfast order but relieved that you found it so good. Unfortunately here in Laos there is often communication issues with our staff and customers. We have reminded them that they need to read back the order to ensure no mistakes are made. We actually do have Vegemite available but not listed on the menu and customers need to approach management for same as Lao people just cannot comprehend what it is. We do not stock Aussie beers because they are simply too expensive and would not sell when there is excellent Lao beer available at a considerably lesser price. We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing