We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you're craving a burger”

Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse
Ranked #67 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great if you're craving a burger”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Run by a 'retired' Aussie and his wife, this spot is a great destination if you want a bit of western food with better standards than the main strip in LP. They had just opened when we were there, and the signage was a bit lacking (hard to find!).
Food was good, beer was very cold, staff were lovely and were really keen to practice their english by having a conversation with you.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thankyou for your contribution and we are happy that you enjoyed visiting our restaurant. The hamburger is very popular. The staff continue to improve their english skills and really enjoy talking to customers. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    101
    26
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great for watching a game!”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I stopped by the bar to ask the owner if he could turn-on a game for us the following day and he was extremely nice and helpful. We arrived the next morning and he had found our game and made us feel right at home.

My boyfriend thought the big boy english breakfast (named something similar) was outstanding. My bowl of chips was overflowing and really good.

If you're looking to watch a game that you just can't miss while on the road, definitely go here!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thankyou for your very good review. We are happy to offer customers choice of sports on any of the 3 screens throughout the day. Having satellite coverage allows us to offer the majority of sporting events (in English) that are available. The breakfast you referred to is our Big Aussie Breakfast and is very popular with visitors. Again thankyou for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Big dishes, good service”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The food is great for home comforts and true falang food (not an imitation of falang food) but therefore means it is very expensive comparative to many places around town, and certainly any local cuisine (obviously). The owner is friendly, the staff are attentive and the atmosphere is convivial.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kawaskuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thankyou for your positive review and I am pleased you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. I note your comment about cost. I believe we are the only restaurant in Luang Prabang offering solely a western menu. As such the cost of presenting this fare is much more expensive than Lao/Asian dishes (as noted by you). I have in recents months compared our menu costs with similar dishes being offered by other restaurants that serve western food and believe we are on a par in terms of cost. We look forward to your return to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Ho Humburger and Pedestrian Pie”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

After spending several days in Laos eating Asian food, we needed a change. The food here is reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and the service is good. The downside: the food is bland and uninteresting. The menu is very limited so it is best to check on-line to make sure that there is something everyone in the family will want.

We ordered a hamburger and a meat pie (labeled on the menu as a "best seller"). The meat pie had no flavor or spices. The hamburger was very "wet" but tasted ok. The best part about both dishes were the chips which were hot and crispy. The beer was cold and the house wine (red) was good.

The manager is very friendly and welcoming and keeps a close eye on the staff to ensure good service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicharone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thankyou for your contribution and review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the service, cold beer and wine. Our menu is a restricted menu and we make no apology for that as we wish to present good wholesome food that we know we can prepare well. Your comment regarding the pie being bland and tasteless and the hamburger being wet is interesting. Those 2 dishes are actually our biggest sellers. Visitors from the USA (who say they know hamburgers) visit daily and laud both our hamburger and pie. Until this review without exception we have very favourable comments regarding the flavour, taste etc. of these 2 items including from many local chefs that dine here on a regular basis. It appears that your taste requirements are not similar to that of other customers or in line with what this menu offers. Thankyou again for your review and we hope that you visit again when next in Luang Prabang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This little bar on a corner in the main part of town is definitely worth a visit... or three in our case! Run by a true blue Aussie, these guys do a damn good Aussie meal for those days when you need a break from local cuisine. The servings are MASSIVE, my hubby couldn't get enough of their chicken parma. We had a great time here watching the Rugby World cup final. Great prices for beer and food, free wifi and a fantastic spot to sit and watch the world go by.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazmerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thankyou for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere during the World Cup Rugby. It was a crazy time for us but it all went off well. Our chicken parmi is a hit here with all visitors, probably because of its size and the fact that we do not compromise on quality. We look forward to you both returning in the near future for a few more "parmis".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing