We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food; equally good service; a lovely vibe”

Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse
Ranked #70 of 224 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We came to Luang Prabang and were drawn into the Aussie bar by the promise on the menu of homemade pie. It wasn't a disappointment. Big hearty meals and great service at a very reasonable price. When we went back a few days later we the owner gave us his take on Baileys on ice and trust me, you'll get hooked on the stuff. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!
PS, for the owner: thanks for the recommendation of Vanilla Place Guesthouse in Chiang Mai - the place is fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank worldwidewebb561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thankyou for your very good review.. We try very hard to provide a happy, good serviced atmosphere. We have great feedback on the quality of food from our restaurant which is evidenced from previous posts. We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 265 of 282 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed in the guest house section of the Aussie Sports Bar for a week in August and ate regularly in the cafe. The food is great, well cooked, wholesome and not pretentious or spicy. Don’t get me wrong I love Lao food and have done two day long cooking classes. However after a few days travelling I like to eat what I am used to back home.

John & Jenny provide this very well.

Breakfasts can be large if you have the “Big Breakfast” which is eggs, beans, sausage, tomato, hashbrowns & mushrooms or more modest if you just have the Continental - toast & jams with tea or coffee. Prices are very reasonable with the Big Breakfast costing about $6 or 50,000 kip & the continental half of this price. The only thing I missed was fresh fruit salad.

They really excel in the lunch or dinner courses - bangers & mash, beer battered fish & chips & their hamburger are all great.

Beer is not expensive - when we were there they had a Tiger beer special which was $3 or 25,000 kip for three medium bottles in a bucket of ice. Just the thing to have while we watched the passing trade from the verandah bar stools. And their wine by the glass is reasonably priced as well.

John is a great host. Often on the verandah, with his laptop, (the Cafe free wifi is good), and answering questions from tourists as they walk by.

The cafe is just down the road from several other bars that operate every night but these close at 11.30PM so they are not a problem.

As the name implies it is a "sports bar" with many plasma screens in the bar showing football & other sports with both a cable & satellite service. So what ever sport is on they will have it on.

If you want to watch the morning alms being given to the monks from the local temple then, again, the verandah is the place to be as the monks from two different temples walk right in front of the cafe. However when we were there this was at 5.30AM and John & Jenny only open from 7AM.

Ok this is not L’Elephant (French) or Blue lagoon (Swiss/German) which are both very good & much more expensive. But it provides very good comfort food at a reasonable price. We will certainly be going back to the Aussie Sports Bar when we go back to LPB.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David_Albert_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thankyou for your extensive and kind review. We are encouraged by your comments and have shared your review with all staff. We will continue in our endeavour to serve the best and freshest "comfort food" in Luang Prabang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This restaurant kept making me come back for more. Big portions for Asia, especially the chicken parmi. Menu items were the equal quality of what you find in Australia. They sell proper orange juice, unlike the normal stuff you find in Laos. Also a good place to watch live sports, not just the AFL footy (7 games per week) but also saw live European football and formula 1. The owner, John, also treated us to a special Bailey's drink he gave us for being regular customers, great service! Would love to know the ingredients but can't remember! Definitely a great addition to Luang Prabang's eateries.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thankyou for your kind review. Our live sports entertainment has been very successful with the bar at capacity every weekend whilst World Cup and AFL Finals are being played. We are heartened by your comments and have shared your review with the staff. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Tripped over this brilliant bar on a walking tour, John and staff made us feel immediately welcome. Food is first rate, especially i you are looking for a taste of home, best coffee I had in Luang Prabang and excellent service. I hope many more trip over this little gem :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tubbytommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for your very kind review. We have been encouraged with the amount of diners and favourable comments regarding our restaurant and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great location and such friendly owners and staff, could not be more welcoming and the fish & chips and mini-burgers were incredible, I had more than one. Best of luck!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NealeGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Thankyou for your review. We were certainly happy with our opening night and pleased that you enjoyed the special entrees. We look forward to seeing you here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing