We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Sight But Marred by Inconsiderate Tourists

We started early as advised by the restaurant that catered the sticky rice for the alms giving. The... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
L3856jermainech
,
Bangkok, Thailand
via mobile
Please be respectful

1. I echo the sentiments of other contributors. 2. Alms giving in Luang Prabang is supposed to be... read more

Reviewed yesterday
HonestBoy
,
London
via mobile
Read all 3,834 reviews
  
translated by Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Luang Prabang
from $68.00
More Info
Reviews (3,834)
Filter reviews
2,420 results
Traveler rating
1,072
639
382
165
162
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,072
639
382
165
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sticky rice respectful distance early start daily ritual monks walk single file every morning the main street giving food street vendors humbling experience tak bat from afar orange robes taking photos takes place young monks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,420 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

1. I echo the sentiments of other contributors.

2. Alms giving in Luang Prabang is supposed to be a solemn and tranquil ceremony.

3. I was aghast at the insensitivity of some fellow tourists who got so close to the ceremony.

4. If you are not participating, please observe from a respecrful distance.

5. Maintain the sanctity of this ancient ceremony.

Thank HonestBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We started early as advised by the restaurant that catered the sticky rice for the alms giving. The reataurant provided the mat, seat and slash (to wear across the torso). We were placed along the temple walls right opposite Bamboo restaurant and were ready by 5.45am. The monks came very soon after and there were many of them. We realised we should have placed ourselves and gave out smaller portions of rice instead. Lots of tourists were respectful and followed the instructions stated on walls instructing that no flash photography be carried out. Unfortunately, this was ignored by some which was disrespectful for the monks. I would suggest giving out smaller portions of rice, the size of a golf ball so that it can the monks that come later in the procession get a chance to have some too. And of course, please observe all hygiene which you would ordinary observe for yourself when handling food i.e. clean your hands before touching the food for the monks. They deserve to have clean good food!

Thank L3856jermainech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Loads of places to watch or take part of you wish. Sticky rice was 30k kip for a basket. Please be respectful and bow, stay out of the monks way it's not a theatre show. I couldn't believe how rude some tourists were .

Thank lucyliu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

While traveling in Laos with our group, we woke early to go to old town Luang Prabang at 5 am to give rice to the monks. It was a most wonderful experience. I highly recommend doing this.

Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The tak bat, or the Buddhist Lao monks' morning collection of food in Luang Prabang, is a must-see for travelers.
Tak Bat is a morning ritual where monks silently line the streets while locals (and interested tourists) put rice or gifts into the monks basket as alms.
Great for picture taking. Buy rice from local vendors and take a seat along the street.

Thank dhmlerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

It is not a religious ceremony but giving alms to the monks who are suppose to eat anything given. They apparently eat only once a day ie before noon. It's a humbling experience for me personally.

Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don’t do this unless it’s meaningful to you. Meaning: a practicing Buddhist. This is not a photo op and it’s rude and disrespectful for tourists to turn this religious act into entertainment. If you really want to witness this beautiful thing, get a hotel room with a balcony or patio or window and watch silently from afar.

2  Thank jeswalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well it makes for a very early morning. We got up at 5 am. You receive a scarf and dress modest. You sit and line up and you give rice to the monks...
they bless you with tied strife around your wrists and it is a unique humbling experience. This feels very culturally immersive even though it is clearly for tourists .. it was unique and lovely.

Thank Lisetteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The best choice is not the main street but the parallel :less crowdy and more easy. It s like in our imagination. But don t forget to go really early... If not.. To late

Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I saw two versions of the alms giving, one near our airbnb and the other on the main drag of town. The one near our place happened when the sun wasn't even up and the monks were chanting their thanks to 3 little ladies outside of their houses. That was incredible to watch as I was the only person around. The next day I walked over to the main street and was sad to see how touristy and commercial the alms giving has become. Tourists are now getting involved (I saw bus loads of tourists being offloaded and then sitting in pre-prepared sidewalk chairs. Saw the flashes of their iphones going off and even saw a few even trying to talk to the monks. Really sad to see that. The "stand across the street to watch" is also not being respected. It also doesn't help that a few enterprising locals are trying to sell rice to offer to the tourists.

2  Thank extravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews