We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be Missed”

Alms Giving Ceremony
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wak up early by 6am and wait on the main road to view the hundreds of monks walking barefoot with bowl to collect alms. You can buy basket of alms from ladies selling for locals as well as tourist. Most locals bring own mat to kneel. If you buy alms basket from a local vendor, she will provide the mat. Great photo opportunity.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank andymuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    855
    497
    205
    208
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Be respectful, please”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Observing the devout give alms was a moving experience. But tourists need to get out of the way, take photos discreetly, and refrain from buying food to give to the monks unless it aligns with your beliefs- not because it's a cool tourist thing to do. Main Street was like a circus. Early in the morning on side streets is a much more authentic experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SelectiveTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Please be respectful!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The ceremony is very impressive. Avoid the main street where tons of tourist are running around the monks. On the side streets you can see the locals with their small carpets giving the real alms.
2 annoyances:
- the ladies that want to sell rice to tourists --> don't buy if this is not your true feeling.
- tourists that are not respectful. Just follow the rules i.E. Sit down, don't obstruct their way etcetc

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can only assume that the review posted on 27th December must be from someone trying, and failing, to be funny.
I, too, would have been horrified to have witnessed the disrespectful displays from other tourists at the ceremony, but luckily for us the number of tourists was low and those that did watch stood well back and didn't get in anyone's way.
It was a very early start but as we'd flown into Luang Prabang from the UK the previous afternoon our body clocks were all over the place.
We initially stood along Sisavangvong Road to watch the monks at the start of their procession and even then it wasn't particularly busy. Once they'd passed, we cut back through into the quieter parallel street to watch them at the end of their circuit returning to their temples. This was a much more atmospheric spot to observe and seemed to be mainly locals offering alms.
A wonderful and uplifting experience and a fabulous start to our holiday.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay BC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Special Experience worth getting up to see”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a local guide who took us to street with no other tourists on it to watch the procession of monks receiving alms from the local people. We arrived early and watched as local women came out of their houses with a small stool and their bowl of sticky rice. When the temple drums sounded about 6am they all carefully took off their shoes, adjusted a shawl over their left shoulders and when the monks arrived in procession passed out a small handful of rice to each monk as they passed by.

It was a very special experience when you realize this is repeated everyday.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank IanGardenBayBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alms Giving Ceremony also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Alms Giving Ceremony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing