We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$112
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$241
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$380
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
70
22
3
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
22
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverlong tail boatfree shuttle serviceswimming poolnearby villagerooms are hugepeaceful stayfollowing morninglocal lifelovely balconyin towna great place to staycaveselephantsnamlaosbikes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 102 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were super happy upon arrival to the hotel. The hotel manager picked us up personally in Luang Prabang and gave us a small tour to the way to the hotel. The hotel is located in a quiet part facing the Nam Ou river.

The hotel is super clean, with a lot of activities and great food and view. The staff was always available and very friendly. They demonstrate a high respect for nature.
There are so many butterflies!!!!! great for butterfly enthusiastics. They have outstanding conditions to keep the elephants (Elephant riding and bath was the highlight of our trip) The little elephant is very cute! always trying to "play" with you and messing around! Very funny.

You can go with the hotel small boat across the river and experience a Whiskey village without the normal tourist activity. You'll be the only tourists there!
You can also learn the traditional fishing methods and watch the sunset on the river (beautiful - try to combine the boat ride, fishing and sunset in one).
You have high quality free bikes!!
The manager was always making sure we got everything we needed and always suggesting new activities and things to see so we would not be bored. You also have a pretty cool pool, but at the time was a bit cold to go in!
They were expanding and I think they will be opening new and cheaper rooms, which is great news for people who are expecting a more "southeast asian friendly price". Expect high quality, amenities, service, food and activities!
Love to go back there! Exceeded our expectations for sure!

Room Tip: Try the bungalows with river view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blapoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was our last stop on a 2 week tour of Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. We had stayed in all kinds of accommodation, the good, bad and the ugly. This place blew us away. We spent 3 nights here and loved every minute of it.
The resort is located in a quiet enclave, along the banks of the Nam Ou River. The "rooms" are full huge villas with enormous bedroom, bathroom (with rain shower) and a large deck overlooking the river.
The property itself is resplendent with flowers and lush growth plus a gorgeous infinity pool.
The staff were amazing as well. The manager exceedingly helpful as well as the young man who served us our every meal. We ate no where but there as the food was delicious.
I would not change a thing about this place. In fact, I am almost afraid to let this secret gem out, but alas, doubt I will be back in Laos for awhile so take my advice and book this one. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are needing to travel back to the Luang Prabang area, hire the long boat. It's a beautiful peaceful journey down the river. We did this to get back to the airport to fly home. A real highlight! Oh and ride the elephants at the Elephant Farm next door.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you like nature and design, this is the place to stay. I just had a really good and relaxing time in this resort, I've got the beautiful bungalow with the wooden trees decoration, including fresh fruits, coffee&tee, private balcony with the river view. The bed was very comfortable and it's a really nice and quiet place, just nature sounds are around you.
I've made a tour and visited the cave by the river, the major temples, the liquor and handicraft village, the art village for hand loom weaving and craft paper making, and Ock Pop Tok School for handcraft with cafe and restaurant. Luang Prabang city is near with many temples, souvenir shops, cafés and restaurants, but I've enjoyed the peaceful stay by the riverside, the swimming pool and elephant ride in the village neighborhood. The staff is very friendly and attentive and can make individual arrangements. The restaurant has local and western food and drinks, just enjoy and relax.

Room Tip: I've stayed at the wooden tree bungalow and I really like it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is one of the loveliest places I have visited. The setting is breath-taking. The rooms are gorgeous with very comfortable beds. The staff is very welcoming and the service top notch. The elephant was the best part of our 4 day stay. We bathed her in the adjacent river, rode on top of her back to her nearby home, and fed her bananas and sugar cane. My two daughters and I had a wonderful time playing with her and will always cherish our memories. Feed her an extra helping of sugar cane when you visit, she loves it.

Room Tip: Our room faced the river, and it was a divine location.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisakim6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

...I'm writing this review (pool side overlooking the Nam Ou river and country side) on the third day of our 5 day stay..you would not meet nicer people than here, the villa is truly 5 star, their service is first class..time to go.. Another dip, than a superb lunch.. It is truly heaven

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews