We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect choice”
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kiridara
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect choice”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Luang Prabang is one of my favorite places in Asia and this hotel was perfect in every way. We are a family with two young girls and we always prefer small, unique boutique hotels and you'll find plenty in Luang Prabang. What we enjoyed most about Kiridara was the friendliness and professionalism of the manager and staff as well as the location. It was perfectly situated right on the outskirts of the small town, nestled into the hill. The hotel had bikes that you could take for the short ride where you can find all the hustle and bustle of markets and restaurants. You could also walk (it's that close). The rooms were clean and modern, the breakfast was outstanding and lounging at the pool was a nice way to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cschieble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much Cschieble for sharing your wonderful experience in TripAdvisor, We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    124
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
126
265
64
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at Kiridara for 4 days. The hotel was nice and reasonable price. However, the air was hazy during the 2 months when the local farms burn the rice field after harvesting. Best time to go is between Oct to Feb (winter months)

I had some problem when I needed to go and see a local doctor. The hotel manager has taken me to the clinic and it was very kind of him

Room Tip: I think the rooms really all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much Nowan M for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spend 3 night in Luang Prabang in one of the 2 Villas the hotel has.
The Villa we had -Kili- was centrally located...in walking distance to where it all Happens in LP.
The Villa was very spacious and well maintained.
2 hotel staff were there whenever you needed them....to prepare Food or get Dome whatever was needed.

All in all a hotel which sets the Standard for other Boutique hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much Anja_Lars for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, Also, thank you for your Kind note on our 2 staffs at the villa who has taken care of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous rooms, delicious cuisine , great spa, beautiful swimming pool and extraordinary people work in this wonderful hotel. The manager is the nicest person , very professional and always on top of everything to make sure that "we" ( the guests ) are happy at all times. I will definitely return !!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much Rodrigo R for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, Also, thank you for your lovely note on our wonderful staffs, rooms, Food, Spa and swimming pool.
Thank you again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

A nice place to generally relax from the bustles of the wat visits and cafes....Staff are very kind and amenable . Breakfast generally great buffet and a la carte selection.. A good kitchen there but buffet disappears with the guests dwindling.Shuttle service is on demand but pickup a bit variable from the post office location leaving you vulnerable to the young lao tuk tuk rip offs.Rooms are extremely large and relatively quiet. Francis is a great manager and makes time to greet all guests at breakfast. Spa was great and very professional. It was well used when I was there. Being on a hillside there are quite a few steps to practise visits to Kuang Si Falls and other hill jaunts....!!! A great trip overall

Room Tip: Stay at the Suite Rooms. They have better views of the Luang Prabang city area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bigcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, Also, thank you for your note on our Kind staffs and Great and professional Spa.
Thank you once again, and from today, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel itself was quite pleasant and the breakfast was included and really tasty.
We had a choice of Asian buffet or A la carte.

The only real downside is the location which is a little far from "downtown", but the hotel provided free transport using an electric tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dex888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for Kind note on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

There is much to recommend Kiridara. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are large, tasteful and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent. The spa is professional. The pool is pretty, though small. The grounds are well-maintained. The manager, Francis, is a caring host.

I visited during the pre-Monsoon period, when Luang Prabang was dusty and smokey. I found Kiridara to be an oasis in the best sense of the word.

I asked the hotel to organize several excursions -- a boat trip on the Mekong, a visit to an elephant sanctuary. Both were perfect, and when the charges appeared on my hotel bill, I was surprised how little they cost. Francis and his staff do their job well. The same applied to restaurant recommendations. But if you choose to lie in, the hotel restaurant will not disappoint. The chef is very good.

I might wish for a little more room around the bathroom sink for toiletries (a design flaw), and for better in-room Internet service (it's northern Laos, though, and I've had worse connectivity in New York). And it is possible to have a "lost in translation" moment. But for the price, the location, and the overall experience, I cannot say enough good things about Kiridara.

Room Tip: The Kiridara is a series of "connected villas" cascading down a hillside. There are no el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much Tim P for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, Also, thank you for your note on our friendly and helpful team, and to recommend Kiridara.
We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Property: Kiridara
Address: 22 / 13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room contemporary boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing