We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good experience”
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiridara
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
london, uk
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“a good experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Easy-going staff and a beautifully-designed hotel made our 4 nights here worth the 5 stars. We asked for a different room within 5 mins of our arrival (because of an exceptionally noisy baby next door) and got upgraded without quibble. That's a good start! And we asked for, and got, late check-out on our last day.

The hotel is an architectural triumph - steps and secret passages all seem to lead somewhere, beautiful vernacular architecture and contemporary well-appointed rooms. The pool is really cool, with dark walls and bottom, and a large section which is ankle-deep - fun for lazing in (would be great for babies too), and the staff will happily serve your beer Lao right there).

A fresh cake magically appeared each evening in our room, along with unlimited bottled water. Staff turn-down your room and light a candle in the oil burner to keep the mozzies down. AC is silent (and concealed) and there is a big (quiet) ceiling fan over the bed. The bed is, without exception, the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel.

The complimentary hotel tuc-tuc will take you into town, and will pick you up again (before 10pm) - I would recommend tipping your driver.

Breakfast was good, above average. You can order some items (such as eggs, etc) from a menu, and everything else such as fruit, pancakes, pastries is buffet style - but they will prepare anything fresh for you on request, even if its already on the buffet. I liked this arrangement, because it reduces food wastage, and guarantees hot, fresh eggs and bacon. Try the eggs benedict. Breakfast is on the veranda by the pool except if its wet.

The hotel is located in a very unspecific part of town - not in the centre, and not in the quiet serenity of the countryside - a pretty uninspiring location, but the beautiful gardens and pool help to make up for that. Takes about 10-15 mins to walk into town (or 5 mins in the tuc tuc), so no big deal.There is a local market nearby (out of the hotel and turn left) with various shops for filling up on drinks and snacks if you need.

I found the prices inside the hotel to be quite high - spa treatments, airport transfers and drinks especially. Saying that, we had a short free massage every single day by the pool and we got a complimentary mojito one day! We chose not to eat dinner in the hotel - with so many fantastic restaurants in LP, we never got round to it.

Overall, we had a 5 star stay in Kiridara - the laid-back staff and generous approach of the hotel - a few great touches here and there - made it a really great and relaxing experience for us.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a bit public, adjacent to the pool and one of the pathways. Ask for a room higher up - loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodyodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for you lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will encourage and motivate the staff to strive for perfection.
we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    124
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
125
263
61
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Kiridara is a nice place but not too close to the old city. The rooms are new and contemporary but beware, the first one we were shown had a moldy smell to it. We complained and they gave us another room. The management of this hotel is very good and if I'm not mistaken from the same management company who manages the excellent 137 Pillars House in Chang Mai, Thailand. The service here is similar to many places in Laos, not quite ready for prime time. Sometimes the order of service and tipping gets confused. The veranda breakfast was good and the service. Wine prices at the hotel are high. This will, eventually, be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: If you use the Tuk Tuk to go into town, tip the driver if you want to be picked back up (this may ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind note, and for sharing you experience in TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
621 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you can afford to treat yourself, consider paying a bit extra to stay at the Kiridara. It is wonderfully situated overlooking Luang Prabang with a view across the valley to the mountains, We had booked a deluxe mountain view room but were upgraded to a suite with so many rooms, terraces and gardens that we lost count. The Kiridara has an infinity pool, good strong free wifi, a spa where they give you 20% off voucher so you can indulge yourself with a treatment of your choice, a gym, great breakfast and a decent restaurant (although we only had lunch here). They have a free tuk tuk to town (about 10 mins away) and will pick you up when you have finished your meal. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend the place.

Room Tip: We were lucky and were upgraded to room 20, which was excellent, but the complex is built in such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments which will motivate the staff and help them to strive for perfection.

Once again thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Amazing place, after a short transfer from airport I arrived at the resort. The welcome was very warm and Francis and his team did the utmost possible to explain all and make sure you had all. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with a nice view. The whole hotel area is clean and loads of nice smelling frangipani trees. The pool area is great. Comfortable sunchairs and a big pool. The food is outstanding, they did a great buffet for Lao New Year with all local food to try accompanied by a local dance show. All the waiters are well trained and so friendly and helpful. Also the front office staff is great and open for all questions.
The hotel is a bit outside of Luang Prabang but they offer a free amd fun TukTuk service and also pick you up.
I can definitely recommend to stay there and will also return. Francis and his team are providing outstanding customer service and are always open for a chat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely note on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments which will motivate them to strive for perfection.

Once again thank you, and from today we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in a suite with our two children (14 and 12) for a few days in the heat of April.
Our rooms were cool, elegant and spacious, with exceptionally comfortable beds and polished wooden floors; a complete absence of mosquitoes (perhaps linked to the powerful lemon-scented spray which the staff squirted around each evening); twin basins and a shower, but no bath; hi-tech but curiously muted lighting; a rather over-looked balcony.
The infinity pool was also very elegant: black lining; not many sunbeds, but never a shortage of them; handsome white swimming-towels; a convenient pool bar; a fine view out towards, rather than over, the centre of town.
The restaurant food worked well both for parents (keen on Lao food) and for children (less adventurous); though unsurprisingly more expensive than eating in town, it also seemed to us to be reasonably priced.
The hotel is situated a bit out of the centre of town, but the management provides an on-demand shuttle service to the central post office, which worked very well for us and only takes a few minutes. Coming back at the end of an outing we could have summoned the hotel, but generally preferred to take a tuk-tuk, which worked out at between $3 and $5 a trip for the four of us.
There are (as everyone below points out) lots of steps if you are given one of the upper rooms; I am able-bodied - if unfit and overweight - and found them no problem.
The service throughout was impeccable, friendly and willing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.
we look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is my second times to Laung Brang and as well as seond time to stay at Kiridara hotel. Rooms are beautiful & clean, food are amazing, staffs are lovely.

I stayed in there with my family for 4 days and I got "the best" experience stays in there. All I can advise to people who looking to stay at Kiridara, don't have doubt, just book it. I also have to give BIG credit to hotel staffs who helping us every way that they can to make our stays more memorable.

I also met with Francis before heading back to airport who said thank for our stays. What a lovely hotel...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thant Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments which will motivate them to strive for perfection.

Once again thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xabia, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A seven week tour through SE Asia and my third visit to Luang Prabang so I decided to stay in a more resort oriented hotel rather than on the peninsula. The slight inconvenience of being located just out from the centre was more than compensated for by the hotel and the superb service. Francis and his team run an excellent hotel with first class service. The kitchen produces one of the best Gali Gai (chicken curry) I've ever had.The short trip into town by their electric tuk-tuk made things very easy.

I can't recommend this place more highly

Room Tip: All rooms have views towards Phousi and the mountains, but it is really worth upgrading if you can t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments on our property, food, service and staffs which will motivate them to strive for perfection.

Once again thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Property: Kiridara
Address: 22 / 13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room contemporary boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing