We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquile boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiridara
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
EMBelgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tranquile boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Kiridara is a very nice hotel, beautifully set on the hills overlooking Luang Prabang. It takes almost no time to adjust to the peacefulness and tranquility of this hotel. Laying around at the pool makes you feel very spoiled and so does having breakfast at the pool while seeing the fog over the hills in Luang Prabang fade away.

Staff are very friendly and the manager, Francis, makes sure everyone has a good time. In my opinion the hotel deserves a five-star rating because every little detail is looked after. There are for example, the complimentary small refreshments and the 5-minute massages at the pool.

While it may not be in the cosy city center of Luang Prabang, it is much more tranquile and very easy to get to the city. You can use the bikes or the tuktuk can bring you (3 minutes).

I'd highly recommend it to anyone who loves Asian boutique hotels as well as being spoiled!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments on our property and staffs which will motivate them to strive for perfection.

Once again thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    123
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
121
257
59
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

4th of 5 Hotels in a 2 week visit to Cambodia and Laos.

Unique and spectacular design and layout. Cantilevered into a hillside you MUST be able to negotiate the many well built/ well illuminated concrete steps. Hidden Buddha's and flower designs in water basins amongst surprisingly mature and lush tropical multicolor foliage make every stroll around the maze like layout a delightful adventure of discovery. Picture suggest it is isolated on a hillside...be aware it is not but with minor outside noise does come off as a private enclave.

Stylish rooms with the most comfortable beds on my trip. Down pillows and duvets. Generous and appreciated upgrade (I booked on their site far in advance and did pay rack rate). Some rooms may not offer the same privacy as others. All windows have translucent and black out shades.

Mini massages poolside a great promotional treat. 2 hr SPA package (check out specials before jumping for the a la carte) was truly blissful, professionally delivered in a terrific setting. Sure it's cheaper in town but here you are steps away from your own shower, bed or the pool.

Dinner outdoors lovely with very good service and a friendly waiter eager to exercise his command of English. All dishes were beautifully garnished. Outdoor buffet breakfast with an ordered dish was a nice wake up but on a colder misty morning (when occupancy was low) it was served a la carte in the stylish/ modern indoor restaurant and it quickly became clear that communication skills were not as good as with the evening staff : you had to be very specific about what you wanted (i.e. juice, fruit and breads were not provided until requested ). The trendy glass window to the kitchen is a nice touch but perhaps the staff needs to be remember the guests are watching!

The swimming pool is a brisk refreshing treat, a bit slippery and while there are no leaves or debris I think it needed a little more vigorous surface cleaning. Not much sun hits those 6 loungers but there are 4 more on the dining deck if direct sun is what you seek. I think at full occupancy there may not be enough and replacing some underutilized dining table with loungers may be a good idea. Staff always eager and ready to provide another towel or move an umbrella.

Turn down and the citronella oil incense lamp is a nice feature. Not enough bath hooks. While I'm environmentally conscientious I think the wet bath mat should be replaced at that time. With such nice LED lighting in the room the single bedside lamp in our two bedded room looked like an afterthought. And while mirror side vanity lights are nice, they are fluorescent and harsh. The wooden slats make it challenging to us the remote control for the A/C and pointing this out on arrival might have avoided a 2 AM call when it wasn't cooling and I couldn't get it to change. Closet lights are great but the one on the left didn't work and the one on the right required

The readily available shuttle to town makes up for not being centrally located but a fixed policy of informing the front desk of where and when to pick up guest might have avoided my 20 minutes in the sun and heat waiting and subsequent confusion about the tuk tuk price from town (we both said 14,000 kip several times, not 40,000.....my mistake for not using hand gestures or writing it down ?!?!?).

There is construction immediately across the street in front, slightly lower on the hill and to the right of the resort.... a new hotel about to add a second (of who knows how many) floors.....but no work went on for the 4 days there and I could not get any more information.

Yes some nightclub next door is noisy (quiet Monday and Tuesday nights though) but with the A/C on we didn't hear anything. Our solid back wall and not the windows faced it directly.

FYI: fixed price taxi from mosquito infested Luang Prabang old terminal where you are unpleasantly treated and then charged a $1 service fee on top of the $35 arrival VISA, was $8 and it is unclear why it the driver went 5 mph, on cell phone constantly and it took almost 25 minutes for a 5 minute drive!?!?!?! Glad to let Kiridara take me back!

Bottom line: I would most likely return to this beautiful property that needs a little fine tuning if it wants to be competitive with La Residence and The Luang Say. There will always be the extensive stairs.

Room Tip: How many reviews have to indicate there are lots of STAIRS ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind note and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments and will look into it to get it resolved where ever possible at the earliest.
Thank you we look forward to welcoming you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide River, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited Luang Prabang in September 2012 as two families, eight in all, including two 12yo boys and two 16yo girls. We stayed a week and Kiridara remains the most exquisite memory for all of us.
Kiridara's 24 units cascade down the side of a small hill facing the sleepy old capital of Lao, Luang Prabang. Everywhere has a view of the town...but nowhere more so than the breakfast balcony by the pool. Start your day with fruits, pancakes, juices, eggs bacon - whatever you like – by the time the coffee arrives you will already feel the vista dragging you out into countryside to begin exploring all that this fabulous location has to offer.
We learnt to ride elephants bareback, supported the Bear rescue centre, swam in the limestone falls and capped off the days with exploring the night markets and finding some of the region’s best restaurants.
The real and only fault with Kiridara is that it sets a standard so high that you may find difficulty matching it on the rest of your trip. I recommend leaving it and Luang Prabang as the treat for the end of your travels.

Room Tip: We took the lesser priced rooms - without a view - but next to the pool. Great for our kids as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reveget8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments in regards which will motivate us to get it into next level.
Thank you once again and from today we look forward to welcoming you soon in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austwell, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the KiridaraHotel, Luang Prabang, for two of the most uncomfortable nights I have experienced in Asia. The hotel is built on the side of a hill with no lift so the only way to get to and from your room is via very poorly built cement steps. Where ever you want to go involves using stairways which are completly unsuitable for older travellers and those in wheel chairs or suffering knee or leg problems.

Despite repeated requests the air conditioning in our room did not work and regardless of the manager's assurance that it had been repaired the room was warm and stuffy. The floors are made from dark wood which isdifficult to manage at night without putting on most of the room lights.

The staff and dining room were excellent and the food very good quality. However those points do not compensate for the difficulities getting around the hotel via so many steps.

Room Tip: Look for a hotel that does not require lots of steps or has a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsley293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments and will look into it to resolve it where ever possible at the earliest.
Thank you and look forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was perfect. Warm welcome from everyone from the manager to the driver who picked us up from the airport. Clean spacious rooms with all the usual amenities. Pool and spa easily accessible. Restaurant provided tasty well-cooked food especially at breakfast. Very attentive and obliging service provided by all the staff. We wanted for nothing and this place will be our accommodation of choice when we come back to Luang Prabang.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paddingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments in regards to service and attentive staff.
Thank you once again and from today we look forward to welcoming you soon in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is locate on the outskirts of Luang Prabang on a side of a mountain, it is an excellent boutique hotel of 24 rooms built very recently, very peacefull, excellent accommodations, excellent staff must try their SPA i had a two hour massage and it was amazing, the rooms are large, the pool and the restaurant are over looking the town and the Mekong river valley.
They have a Tuk Tuk shuttle from the hotel to the town real fun.
Front desk helped us organize all our tours around Luang Prabang with no dissapointments.
If we visit LP in the future we will stay at Kiridara for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFO2SHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind note on TripAdvisor, which will help to motivate and strive for perfection. Also thank you especially, for your lovely comments on our Spa, front desk and Tuk Tuk transfer to town.
we appreciate and look forward to welcoming you soon in not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
543 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Kiridara is situated high on a hill with great views of magical Luang Prabang. Being removed from the action along the riverfronts has its distinct advantages. It is a peaceful place where you can take things slowly, even slower than in the town where life seems to stop to take in the views.

The room is like a junior suite, with a spacious living area and even a small garden. It has excellent mood lighting, plenty of space to spare your stuff, a huge bathroom with separate tub, rain shower and toilet areas, and a wide comfortable bed with superior pillows. The LCD TV was huge, there was an iPod dock and a well-stocked refrigerator, as well as extensive tea and coffee facilities. The only thing lacking was a central lighting control panel by the bedside. Everything was spotlessly clean and well organized. A fruit basket and welcome letter from the GM completed the memorable reception.

The service was among the finest I have ever encountered. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, always courteous. All spoke superb English and Thai. A free van or tuk tuk transfer made traveling into town a most pleasant experience, with free pickups by a phone call. Check in and checkout were prompt and hassle free.

The breakfast spread by the pool outdoors was charming. The hotel had a nice selection of pastries. Nothing beats the magnificent views of Luang Prabang while sipping tea high up in the hill.

Kiridara ranks as the finest stays in Southeast Asia for me, and also among my finest hotel experiences anywhere in the world. I would not stay anywhere else when in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments in regards to our wonderful property and friendly and helpful staffs.

Thank you once again and from today we look forward to welcoming you soon in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Property: Kiridara
Address: 22/13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing