We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent”
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kiridara
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Kiridara for two weeks during July 2012. At first we were concerned that two weeks would be too long, well it wasn't. I have never been made to feel more welcome at a hotel. From our arrival and guided tour of the hotel to the wonderful and well priced spa treatments our stay was a pure pleasure. The staff are extremely friendly and all the managers and main staff take time each day to chat with you and make you feel welcome and at home. The rooms are beautifully designed and layed out and a pleasure to spend time in whether it is in your private garden or on your balcony. The pool area is lovely with a stunning view across the mountains and town. The food was delicious. We had dinner twice and were not disappointed. Breakfast is from an al a carte menu and fresh juice and coffee/tea made to order, a very civilised way to start the day and so much nicer than the usual buffet rush. The hotel is a 15 to 20 minute walk from the main street however there is a complimentary tuk tuk and also free bikes which are also available and we never found the location to be an issue, in fact we saw it as a plus. When we had a problem with our suitcase handle breaking the the staff took it away and got it fixed without the slightest bother. A big thank you Francis the Manager and Roberto the Head Chef in particular who made this a real holiday to remember. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences and comments in the Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at our resort.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    126
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
128
266
65
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Living here is how you would like home to be. Elegant dark wood furniture in the rooms, tiffany colored textiles, and woven details make for comfy rooms. The toilet is a separate room for the shower room and that is just one nice detail. The pool is the central part of the hotel. Apple, the Thai massage therapist who runs the spa, is one of the best massage therapists in the world. The spa includes basalt bathtubs that make clawfoot tubs so passe. The hotel also has mountain bikes that you can borrow for free. The town in small so you can enjoy a bike ride to the French bakery. The hotel does not bake as well as the French bakery but perfection is not always just a goal. On the other hand, the breakfast includes the option of Asian style breakfast which is good. Plus, the presentation of the yogurt is quintessentially Kiridara.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiksAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences and comments in the Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at our resort.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel rooms are beautiful and clean, with the softest feather beds. In addition to making up the room every morning, there was also turn-down service while we were out in the evening. The staff was beyond helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, especially the eggs benedict. I have absolutely zero complaints! I almost cried when it was time to check out!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TristanAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences and comments in the Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at our resort.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this magnificent hotel and loved every minute if it! From the time we were collected from the airport we were treated like royalty. The staff are all so helpful and friendly, the manager Francis us always around to see if everything is first class and to give advice on where to go and what to see in the area. The rooms are delightful, the attention to detail is amazing and just everything is the best! Dont hesitate to stay at this fantastic hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences and comments in the Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at our resort.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Positives:
- Beautiful pool area
- Excellent food
- Hotel sits on a hill overlooking the city
- Staff was very hospitable
- Rooms are beautiful

Only negative is that it's a little outside the town. My wife and I stayed here for one night on our honeymoon (we stayed 2 nights in town, then went to Vang Vieng, and when we came back stayed here). We wish we had stayed the entire time at this hotel. Although it's just outside the main part of town, I think they have bikes you can take and easily go into town. And you can grab a tuk-tuk.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dubin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences and comments in the Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at our resort.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kiridara for 2 nights and wish we had planned for many more. The staff was incredibly accommodating- whatever the request, they were happy to help. Francis, the owner, makes sure that guests are comfortable and well take care of, and again, is more than happy to assist with any special requests. We walked to town on several occasions (about 10 minutes) but it was easy to arrange for free transportation from the hotel to any destination.

As for the room itself, it was definitely among the top I have stayed in. The room was sizeable and the balcony overlooked the hills of Luang Prabang (the view and peaceful surroundings were well worth being a bit from town). The bed was extremely comfortable- much needed after all the traveling we had done throughout Laos.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality place to stay with phenomenal service in Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpinfrogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences and comments in the Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at our resort.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel was gorgeous ! So beautifully designed! Rooms are 5 star- elegant and spacious.
The pool is beautiful and the view lovely, as it's built on a hill. Friendly staff too. We took kids but there weren't others here. But this seemed fine. I'd recommend it to families.

Room Tip: Small and private. Suitable for families. The best beds ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipFef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences and comments in the Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at our resort.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Property: Kiridara
Address: 22 / 13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room contemporary boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing