We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic villa and friendly & lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok
Ranked #28 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I and my friend stayed at Ock Pok Tok Villa for 4 days. We requested airport pick-up service and could meet staff at the airport safely. After riding a Tuk-Tuk about 30mins, we arrived at very charm and exotic Ock Pop Tok Villa.

We enjoyed welcome drink seeing Mekong River in Silk road café and luckily they upgraded our room. The upgraded room in the riverside has a beautiful balcony, which is really good to relax. The room was decorated by colorful and lao-style textile and bathroom was also good with amenities. For breakfast, you can choose to eat in both café and room. The food was fresh and delicious. Wifi worked very well and fast.

Also travelers can experience some activities - natural dyeing class and weaving class. I enjoyed natural dyeing class and it was good chance to know about Lao textile and how weavers made their efforts to make textiles.

Even though the place is a bit away from main street, but it’s not a problem. They have free Tuk-Tuk service to main street by 5pm and lend bicycle for free.

Above all, I love Ock Pop Tok staff and their great service – Doua, Jenny, Air, Saynoy, Porlee and other all staffs. They are very friendly and have open-mind. I could enjoy my trip like home.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kslee0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

We're glad you had a great time and took one of our classes. Thanks for writing the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I first visited the OPT Villa when it was just opening and I loved the site, the view, and the overall setup, I knew it would be a super cool compound, and now it is just that, with very nice plantings of trees, flowers, vines, and groundcovers, the buildings are very well done also, as Jo and Veo have really great taste. Our room was super compfy, clean, and cool. We had a view room with a great private patio with lounges to streach out..The restaurant and bar is a great place to chill, and have great banana pancakes for breky, or good Lao food for lunch or dinner along with wines or cocktails. Make sure and take part in weaving classes there, and do some shopping in the excellent shop that features Lao textiles, and other goodies like stuffed elephants clad in local village textiles. This location is so mellow, clean and green, perfect for singles, couples and families.. Best and enjoy, Marko

Room Tip: Do go for a Maekong River view room if poss..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkyLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thanks for your long term support and writing such a nice review, you're welcome here anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been to Luang Prabang more times than we can count and were delighted when Ock Pop Tok opened a boutique villa. It is divinely comfortable, lovely rooms, and only a few, veranda overlooking the Mekong, wonderful linen on the beds and each room uniquely decorated with Lao Textiles.
The small restaurant under cover of a leafy awning serves delicious lao food and sometimes with a twist. You can sit there forever with a Beer Lao watching the sun go down.
A special added feature is the weaving studio where you can watch Lao weavers and even join a weaving and dying class yourself. I am a textile collector so it is always a treat for me to be where I can hear the click of the shuttle.
Ock Pop Tok Villa is perfectly located away from the busier tourist areas of Luang Prabang, but easily accessible to everything by bike or by the charming newly designed OPT tuk tuk. Come and stay, you will love it.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely and close to the veranda, but if you want to see the Mekong from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footlooseMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Wow, what a great review. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and it always makes us very happy to get such positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've stayed at Ock Pop six nights and it was a very good experience. We got a non-view room and it was well decorated with textiles from their factory (which is in the villa also), windows that open, comfy bed, a jar of water everyday. The room is not very big and has no TV or fridge, but it wasn't a problem. Everything was very good taste and delicate. Bathroom was also nice, with amenities and good shower. Room also has a great lightning system, what we appreciated. It's very cozy and clean.
The place itself is sweet, with river views, lots of opportunities to take pictures from the local artisans, textiles store and a nice restaurant serving tasty plates at lunch (unfortunately they don' open at night, but can order delivery for you). Breakfast was by order and very good, their baguette and tamarind juice were delicious!
The villa is a 15 minute by bike from the city and 5 min by tuk tuk. They have some bikes that you can use for free. Only one day we had a problem with some annoying guests who decided to keep the bikes for the whole day - I was very angry because we told the staff in advance that we're going to use the bikes that afternoon (we had an appointment at city) and they were nice enough to call a tuk tuk for us, for free.
Staff is very nice, speak good english and gave us a great restaurant recommendation (blue lagoon).
The place is not cheap in comparison with other hotels in Luang Prabang, but worth paying if you like arts and want to enjoy a charming place while in charming luang prabang. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If it's available, get the river-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thanks for writing such a nice review and we're really happy you had a great experience. Im very sorry about this issue with the bikes, we've never had a problem before about bikes not being available but thank you for raising the issue as we need to ensure this doesn't happen again. Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I were really glad to have chosen this villa for our two nights' stay in Luang Prabang. It has its own world which is comfortable and cozy. Nothing fancy at the villa. The world to describe it would be "tribal"-like. It's a bit far from the town center, but taking a tuk-tuk back and forther is actually quite enjoyable and the ride is not too long (vs. doing that on the dusty roads of Vientiane..)

Room Tip: Think the rooms facing the riverfront would be the best, though we were unable to get those
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thanks for the great review and its great to hear that you were both happy in your choice to stay with us. We hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We discovered this place, when we took the tour to the weaving factory. It's a 5 min. ride per tuk tuk out of town. They have only 4 rooms and only 2 are facing the Mekong. It was the most beautiful room, we had in Asia for a long time. Everything done very tastefully. There's no TV, but who wants to watch television, when your balcony is located right over the Mekong. The stuff is very nice, the food ok, Wifi fast. Everything is a bit pricey, but the room and the view is worth it. The reason I do not give 5 points is, that the restaurant closes at 5 pm. You can still have drinks, but you have to go to town for dinner . They offer a delivery service, but that wasn't great at all.
Everything else is great.

Room Tip: Definitely one the two rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonAlfonso01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you taking the time to write a review and we're glad you had a special experience here. Thanks for your feedback regarding the closing of the restaurant and we are currently investigating to open later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

An amazing place that was the perfect end to our trip. The accommodation was fantastic with great attention to detail and we loved that each of the 4 rooms (of which we stayed in two) were themed around a specific tribe, and decorated with their textiles/culture in mind. The comfy beds were also a pleasant surprise, especially after a month travelling around South East Asia!

The staff were very welcoming, and the grounds are really well maintained, but it was the views over the Mekong and being able to meet with and watch the weavers at work on site that make this place really stand out. Eating breakfast overlooking the Mekong was a lovely start to the day, finished off nicely watching the sunset,whilst enjoying a beer Lao. Taking a class at the centre was another highlight and although my husband was initially a bit reluctant we both really enjoyed ourselves. The scarfs included in the price of the class we did also made great presents for people when we got back home.

Some people may be put off because the villa is a bit out of the town, but there are bikes available (about a 10min ride) and the fact that Ock Pop Tok is a little hidden away actually only adds to its charm.Tuk Tuks are easy to get hold of and Ock pop Tok provides a shuttle to their shops in the centre, which are well worth a look.

This was an absolute gem and well worth a visit, either to stay, eat or to spend some time immersing yourself in some of the Laos culture. Highly recommended.



Visited August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. You perfectly sum up what we're about so I have nothing more to add!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#24 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#38 of 71 in Luang Prabang
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Oudomlith
Villa Oudomlith
#12 of 271 in Luang Prabang
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 271 in Luang Prabang
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Bougainvillier
Le Bougainvillier
#6 of 271 in Luang Prabang
133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 271 in Luang Prabang
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok

Address: Ban Saylom, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $55 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ock Pop Tok Villa is a Luang Prabang retreat on the banks of the ever changing Mekong River. The tropical gardens and the atmosphere offered by the local weaving studios and vistas make this an unforgettable stay experience in Laos. The Silk Road cafe serves the best of Lao home made cooking. Learn - Create - Shop - Stay- Eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mekong Villa by Ock Pop Tok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing