We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, that was bad.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of S Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

S Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Asian, Japanese, Bar, Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wow, that was bad.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Like a previous reviewer, we've been in Asia for a few weeks and wanted a bit of change. So we hit the S bar. God, that was a mistake.

We ordered sushi. It was not good. Not inedible. But really bad. Salmon sushi was actually smoked salmon sushi. And not a very good one. The rice was tasteless and way overcooked. Kappa maki came with carrots (?!?). Spicy salmon maki was made with lemongrass (so wasnt really spicy). Plus it took about 45 min to get our order, despite the place being empty. Waiters didnt speak much english. Music was awful, really really bad Dj.

Not finding a western, loungy type of bar that serves sushi in LP is okay. But if you pretend to be one, do it well. S Bar doesnt.

Anyway, all in all, this is a place to avoid. There are dozens of better restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“STOP to follow your guide book and GO to THE S BAR!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

After traveling few months in Asia i needed something different..... A place like home ....
I found on my way to utopia this new lounge bar. Completely different from other places in town ( fed up with backpackers places), soft light, comfy sofa, private dj, free wifi....
Cocktails are amazing! Go for the frozen Mojito! So far the best i had in town and come for the happy hours you ll have a free re-filled!
The staff is really nice and in need of speaking with foreigners.
The owner a young franco thai guy never miss any opportunity to party and will blow you up with his home made crazy shooters. Some are revelant of a chemistry classes!
Food is delicious ( Thai or even western). It can take some time to be served but you won t be disappointed. Sushis are awesome....or even burgers with its sauce i though for a sec i was eating a real big Mac!! Served with home made french fries....
More than that, i though it was the only place where you can meet expatriates and share their nightlife with them, easy to meet people and always warm welcomed.
The free shooter is served in a real syringe.....never seen it before!
if you hear about party ( twice a month) don t miss it! it will be the best place to be in town!
It will be over crowded by people burning the dance floor!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plume V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“trendy lounge bar with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Amazing that such an authentic and unspoilt country like Laos can have few very top notch places to have a drink and eat something, feeling cosmopolitan although still in one of the most remote and most beautiful areas in Asia. Service as always in Luang Prabang done by very young boys in the bar and young girls in the kitchen. Beerlao is an extremely good beer and you will get some free shots made by the student at the bar. I had a cheeseburger with fries and it was the best cheeseburger I had ever eaten, with a very nice piece of beef and some great different tastes. Price was about 55 000 Kip or 5 to 6 Euro. So one could say quiet expensive for a poor country but that is because they have to import everything. Please leave tips for the young students working in Laos. Music was great, very modern lounge style.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luang Prabong's best place to spend the nigth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I just got back from Luang Prabong with my husband, it was our 7 years wedding anniversary, and we had such a great time at S bar!!! I was a bit worried, thinking we wouldn’t be able to find a nice bar/lounge to celebrate this event and at the same time New Year, but thanks to S bar we had wonderful nights!
The music is awesome: French touch, electric and groovy.
The drinks are fabulous (and it is actually quite hard to find decent cocktail in Luang Prabong) you can even find great champagne label!
The food is delicious: from sushi to Laos specialties, lots of finger food as well such as pate canapé and cheese ham croquettes! Yummy!
Great decoration, sophisticated atmosphere; S bar is the ideal place for a night outside of the backpacker’s track.
The staffs are very friendly and the owner Mister Sammy (half Thai/half French) is very welcoming and will always do his best to satisfy your request.
Truly a wonderful place to be!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dorothee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sooo overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great furniture and location is handy but drinks are sooo expensive and service is so average.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kawaskuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing