We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening”

La Belle Epoque at The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #42 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Belle Epoque at The Luang Say Residence sits directly behind the grand entrance foyer and affords guests wonderful views over the inspiring tropical garden. Retractable window panels open up to welcome in the cooling mountain air, and diners can choose to enjoy their meal either inside or al fresco with a total of 50 covers guaranteeing every guest a table. A seasonal, healthy and creative menu changes quarterly and features a tempting selection of regional dishes from Laos and other countries in South East Asia. Delicious local delicacies take diners on a memorable taste adventure. The Dining Room delights and surprises its guests with simpleyet sumptuous cuisine, attractively priced and served in impeccable surroundings. The heritage ambience and fine flavours also make the restaurant a popular venue for cocktail parties and special events.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The terrace was beautiful, the food was excellent, and the service was attentive and friendly. I found the food prices to be reasonable, though the drinks were a bit expensive. I would recommend it, and I would go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGW_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special here, move along....”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Enticed by the many glowing reviews here my wife and I visited this restaurant a couple of days ago. We were both looking forward to the food. The setting was pleasant, although in Luang Prabang most settings are pleasant. What we came for however was the food.

The service was over attentive - I don't need my wine glass being refilled every time I have taken a sip - unobtrusive but attentive is the way to go - more training needed there; however everyone was nice.

The food was a let down; not dramatically bad, although the duck leg confit I had was dry, stringy and the sauce didn't help with that problem as it was a mere smear on the plate. My wife's chicken was not dissimilar. Wine average and expensive for LP.

In short, if every other French restaurant is closed and you absolutely have to eat French food - head to the night market and buy yourself a baguette - better than this...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theluangsayresidence, General Manager at La Belle Epoque at The Luang Say Residence, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Simon R,

Thank you very much for having recently visited our restaurant La Belle Epoque.
We are glad to read you enjoyed the setting of our terrace and appreciated our restaurant team despite the fact you felt they were over attentive.

We are sorry to read you did not like your main course and felt it was a bit dry, should you have mentioned this to our team during dinner we will have rectified it right away in the best possible way to enhance your dining experience and pleasure.

We do feature a pretty extensive wine list of 50 different labels and are continuously looking at offering the best possible wine alternative in keeping the value for money aspect our priority.

Thank you again for your candid comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Belle Epoque

Warmest regards,

Rodolphe Gay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This restaurant is Excellent for a fine dining experience. French/Laotian cuisine. It has western prices (not cheap), but the food was superb. Also, the ambiance was very romantic, quiet, peaceful and in a beautiful French Colonial Hotel. We dined there 3 times during a week long stay in Luang Prabang. Loved it! They are also open to special dietary needs and offer creative menus.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Best food had at Luang Prabang. Given quality of ingredients and talent of the chef, value for money

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoctaraCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine dining in LPB”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The restaurant is located inside a very nice hotel, a bit out of town. We spent $4 US in a tuk-tuk from town to get there. They greeted us warmly, helped us inside, and we first took a stroll around the lovely grounds. We give this a 4/5 because "for its level" it did not quite rise up to truly excellent. However, it was delicious. We began with two drinks, a margarita and a pina colada. Both were "very good," but not "excellent." Also, one must consider price in rating, they were $9 each, which I will gladly pay, but the quality did not match the price. The bread was also a bit short, it was essentially whole wheat toast, but I was starving, so it tasted great with the butter and drinks. Then we each had a salad, and shared an appetizer. The LP salad was excellent, and the bamboo shoot salad was good at best, but was healthy, and a joy to eat. The spring rolls were delicious but we had eaten some yesterday at the blue lagoon that were truly a 5/5. Then we shared a gnocci dish and two sides, spnach and mashed potatos. The gnocci was quite delicious, flavorful, homemade, soft, and we are divided whether to give them a 4 or 5. The mashed potatoes were an absolute 5, no question, super good, flavorful, unique in taste. The spinach had a bit too much "sauce" for me, but we strained it out, and otherwise it was very tasty and fresh. So, all in all, we have to say 4/5.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque at The Luang Say Residence also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to La Belle Epoque at The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing