We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, cheap and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vilayvang Guest House
Ranked #73 of 269 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, found it cheap (120,000 for a 3 person room) great location as its only 5 minutes from the night markets, 2 minutes from the main pubs and restarunts and literally round the corner from utopia. the staff are very friendly and laid back, never once asked us to pay for the room. i had to go and find him when we was leaving to pay. hot showers and clean bathroom, room was nice with clean bedding and a t.v with all channels working. free tea, coffee and bananas anytime you wanted. no faults great value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingboy140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Duk the proprietor is kind and welcoming.He will go out of his way to meet your needs. Vilayvanh is definitely inexpensive- we paid US$15 a night during high season.

Rooms on the first floor, which begin with the #2, are small, adequate for two people. Here's what you can expect: 2 twin beds, a desk and stool next to a small wardrobe. BYO hangers. Small but serviceable TV set. Two bottles of water, two towels, a roll of TP. The comforters were slightly stained but sheets were clean. A/C worked well, as did the fan. Wifi in the lobby area only. Screens on the windows, which is a plus. No bugs or creepy crawlies. Best of all, with the A/C or fan on, it was blessedly quiet--note that the guesthouse is tucked back a ways from the street.

Location was excellent. Easy walking to pretty much everything.

Duk provides a big water cooler in the lobby with yummy Lao coffee.

Bottom line- you get what you pay for here, and there are far worse deals in LP. Just keep yourself focused on the basics and no more, knowing that you're getting a decent room for $15. Realize that if this were a guesthouse in Canada or the States, it would rate far lower- but you have to take into consideration where you are. For LP, it's a decent choice.

Room Tip: Rooms beginning with a 1 are below ground. They do not have A/C and while spacious, are musty and da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelectiveTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This was a real find! Cheap rooms with own bathroom, tv & aircon ($12) very close to Hive, laulau & Utopia and only a 10 minute walk to the night market. The staff are just lovely & so warm & friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend or return to Vilayvang guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenim0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here twice it was that good, Once heading north and once heading to the Thai border. The manager and staff were warm, friendly, helpful and made you feel at home.Free coffee, tea, bananas and water refills.The rooms were clean, everything worked and it felt like you were getting excellent value for money in a slightly more expensive part of Laos. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have 2 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Upon the moment we stepped foot on the property, we were greeted with warm smiles and the feeling of home. The staff is very friendly and pleasant. Our room was spacious, 2 twin beds, hot shower, had windows on 2 sides of the room and equipped with a small desk and armoire to hang clothes. The location is excellent with restaurants close by and Utopia is a 15 second walk just down the brick path, for ultra-convenience.

We can’t say enough about the cleanliness of our room. We stayed for 8 days and didn’t see one bug, ant or creepy crawly the whole time. This is the first place we have found in SE Asia in 4 months that we can say this about.

We felt this guesthouse was an amazing value at 80,000 Kip / Night. The housekeeping is excellent, but basic in the sense that they don’t clean the room daily, which we prefer. Although, we’re sure they might do it if you asked them to. They will clean your room on request and change your towels anytime. We had stayed and seen other guesthouses in LPQ that charge in the 240,000 Kip range and we felt this was a nicer overall stay, location and customer service experience. We have also had spoken to others that were paying more or equal to 80,000 Kip without air-conditioning.

They have a coffee (regular and Lao) and tea station in the front area that you can help yourself to anytime. They also have complimentary bananas for their guests as well. The property has a few tables in the front to use as well as a balcony with some seating on the 2nd floor. All great perks! The Wi-Fi is decent, a bit slow, although it crashed from time to time during our 8 day stay.

When you arrive in Luang Prabang, don’t waste your time hopping from guesthouse to guesthouse looking for the best value, just make your way down to Vilay Vanh. We would highly recommend saying here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We felt lucky when they had a vacancy at VV Guesthouse. We crossed the threshold and the Manager, Duk, greeted us warmly by saying ‘..this is now your home.’ He was very sincere and the moment we entered, the whole staff watched out for us and made sure we were happy; Duk, his assistant, and even the cleaning lady. Nothing was too much for them. They did our laundry, ran to the store for ice for us, shared their sticky rice and seaweed treats, and served free coffee and fruit in the mornings. When Duk told us he made the single cup coffee filters used at the guesthouse, my wife asked if he would make one for her. He was delighted and two hours later, we were the owner of a brand new reusable coffee filter/holder.

We first paid for 3 days, then 2 days, then 3 more days and it went on. We didn’t want to leave. If we had more than a 30 day visa, we might still be there!

Our room was compact and bathroom had one of the all-in-one shower set ups. Air Con, Wifi and cable TV worked well. Fruit, tea & coffee in the morning is included. No restaurant on site.

The guesthouse in on the Nam Kahn river side of the peninsula. To find VV, follow the signs leading the way to Utopia Riverside Restaurant and Bar. Those signs begin near Aussie Sports Bar and Guesthouse on the south side of the big hill. 200 feet before you reach Utopia, you will see a sign on the right at the guesthouse spelled VilayVanh not Vilayvang (Rate in March 120000 kip for two people, 100000 kip for one person) Call ahead or try them early in the day. Guesthouse was booked out by 9AM every day of our stay in February

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for a week in Mar 2012 for 120,000 Kip a night. The guesthouse is down a very quiet lane and at night it is silent until the 11.00pm crowd from Utopia straggle home full of happy chatter. The two story building has fantastic wide polished floorboards. The staff is friendly and unobtrusive. Free bananas and coffee always available. A 3 minute walk down the lane and through grounds of the local Wat brings you to a street near Yao Yao food and lots of other restaurants. Further along this street a little way are nice views over a tributary of the Mekong where you can turn right over a bamboo bridge(5000 Kip for upkeep) or left for two blocks to reach the Mekong. Also on the left is a hill with a commanding Wat (20,000 kip) where you can increase your karma by buying a bird to release and check out Buddha's footprint.

Room Tip: Go upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
841 reviews
0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilayvang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilayvang Guest House

Address: Riverside Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing