We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vilayvang Guest House
Ranked #102 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for a week in Mar 2012 for 120,000 Kip a night. The guesthouse is down a very quiet lane and at night it is silent until the 11.00pm crowd from Utopia straggle home full of happy chatter. The two story building has fantastic wide polished floorboards. The staff is friendly and unobtrusive. Free bananas and coffee always available. A 3 minute walk down the lane and through grounds of the local Wat brings you to a street near Yao Yao food and lots of other restaurants. Further along this street a little way are nice views over a tributary of the Mekong where you can turn right over a bamboo bridge(5000 Kip for upkeep) or left for two blocks to reach the Mekong. Also on the left is a hill with a commanding Wat (20,000 kip) where you can increase your karma by buying a bird to release and check out Buddha's footprint.

Room Tip: Go upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, CA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

As the others have said - this is an affordable, clean option in beautiful Luang Prabang. My husband walked all over town one day checking out guest houses, and this was the best place he found for the price, hands-down. It's tucked away off a quiet side street, so even though you're only a few minutes from the action, it's nice and quiet. Wi-fi was spotty but there is a free computer to use, and you're just a few steps from Utopia, which has great wi-fi and great food. Good hot water, comfortable bed, super friendly staff! You can only book by showing up and paying a deposit but it's worth the effort. You can also try calling ahead - from their small map, here are their numbers (not including Lao country code):
[--]
[--]
[--]

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms might be slightly quieter than the downstairs, but all are pretty calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Vilay Vanh guest house is a comfortable affordable option in Luang Prabang. I paid $13 for a private room but you might be able to bargain this down a little if you tried. The guest house is not right in the heart of Luang Prabang but Luang Prabang is so small that it only take 10-15 minutes to walk to the main street. Perhaps the best thing about the guest house is that it is literally just down the laneway from Utopia restaurant, which is not to be missed. The area around the guest house if very quiet as (other than being very close to Utopia) it's a bit off the beaten track from other low cost guest houses or the hotels at the other end of the peninsula in Luang Prabang.

You can supposedly get the wifi signal in the rooms but I had trouble getting it in mine. You can definitely get the signal in the common area at the front of the guest house though. There is also a computer for guests to use as well as free coffee, water and bananas available all day long. As a final thing, the guy who ran the guest house was incredibly sweet and zen (which fit perfectly with the general Luang Prabang vibe).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbunny_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Next to Utopia restaurant, Vilay Vanh (check the spelling...?) is an excellent guest house, clean, bathrooms in rooms with Wifi and TVs, free coffe or tea and fruits, attentive staff and some bicycle for rent at only 10,000 kips (other places wanted 15K). Only about 50 meters from a main street but absolutely quiet and there is a curfew in Luang Prabang from midnight to 5 AM so this is a good place to relax after trekking in the North. It is low season now so I paid only 10$ for my room (with AC too…). Nothing to complain about, I will be back here if I come back to this town. Careful only 8 rooms…. It was full most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
756 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 69 in Luang Prabang
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilayvang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilayvang Guest House

Property: Vilayvang Guest House
Address: Riverside Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing