We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid riverview”
Review of Villa Nagara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Nagara
Ranked #33 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid riverview”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in Villa Nagara for some days and were sorry to leave. We had a nice room, though without without a view. Some bigger rooms at the front of the hotel had a beautiful view, overlooking the river. We enjoyed that view during breakfast, on a very nice and quiet terrace in the open air. Also a pretty place to rest for a while, late in the afternoon, or in the early evening.
We liked our room and even the bathroom. It was a quiet place to stay and at a terrific location; around the corner of the mainstreet (including the Night Market) and on the riverside with the walking bridge (that has to be rebuild every year).
One day we got two bikes (for free) from the staff and visited also the other side of the Mekong River; a small village with a school and a hospital.
Two minor points: sometimes we had wifi problems and the staff were not so talkative (understatement). Upon our arrival we were asked to give our passports and told to take off our shoes. That seemd to be all that had to be said :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelies F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
53
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at Villa Nagara- this hotel is very small- only 2 floors, and is located in a beautiful location right on the Nam Khan river (right by the bamboo bridge crossing). Villa Nagara is centrally located - close to everything- shopping, temples, upscale restaurants (Dyen Sabai, l'Elephant, Tam Nak, Les 3 Nagas, etc).

The staff were nice but working knowledge of English was limited like much of Luang Prabang , so if you are finicky and have special requests you might need to look up the Lao translation. Due to the language barrier, I would also recommend booking activities elsewhere if you have special needs or want a more customized package. The staff was helpful though with booking airport transport at a very reasonable price.

The hotel decor and furnishings are tastefully done, with teak wood flooring, white linens accented with gold and pops of warm tones of color. The double room was spacious and comfortable with a seating area and a roomy bathroom. There's nice touches like handmade Lao baskets in the bathroom etc, English books and magazines to borrow in the lobby and hallway area. Also free bicycles for guests- but need to grab these early before they run out.

One downside was that our room (room #6) had a funny smell- kind of like a durian smell or other rotting tropical fruit. It didnt bother us enough to request to change rooms, but was not ideal. Room 6 is an interior facing room that butts up against a wooden wall that hid our next door neighbors- a roost of CHICKENS. Not a complete annoyance, but not ideal in the morning. Once dawn cracks, you will hear constant crowing. This didn't bother us so much as we woke up early anyway to do tourist stuff, but if you want to sleep in either bring ear plugs or book a river-view room.... Due to the amazing value, I am still rating Villa Nagara as "excellent' despite these two downsides.

Love the location of the restaurant, which is directly across the street from the hotel, on the river. Prime real estate for people watching, relaxing, etc. The breakfast was pretty good- American style and a couple Lao options. Service is a relaxed leisurely pace. Also ate for lunch & dinner- the pad thai was very good. Again- limited English so order simply or be prepared for some surprises :) (I ordered vodka and received a beer)

I would definitely stay again at Villa Nagara.

Room Tip: Get a river facing balcony room- quieter and more atmospheric.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth western australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We arrived in Luang Prabang to be greeted warmly at Villa Nagara.You leave your shoes at the bottom of the stairs and go up to the second floor.I think there are only 4 rooms but I may be mistaken.All the building is made of teak wood and our room had 2 huge doors that opened onto the best room I think I have ever had.You walked into a separate room that had a couch and tea & coffee facilities.This then led into the bedroom with a four poster bed which would have had to have been the most comfortable bed I have slept on,2 sets of french doors that opened onto a balcony that over looked the river and restaurant.Magnificent.New bathroom although we had trouble getting any hot water.Quick showers for all.We spent allot of time on our balcony people watching.Its location was right near the restaurant district and everything in Luang Prabang is walking distance.The restaurant is across the road and there is free tea and coffee anytime you want.Only thing is that the food is cooked at the rear of the hotel and has to be brought out to you across the road so it is often luke warm.The menu is extensive and you can order whatever you like at no charge for breakfast.Fresh milk didnt seem to be available and was the sweetened kind(no good for a diabetic).I became very ill on our last day and rushed off to hospital(nothing to do with the hotel) but they were so kind to my daughter and husband and organised the room for my daughter to spend another night.Many thanks for that.Highly recommend this hotel and shouldnt be doing a review to keep it quiet but it was too beautiful not to tell others.Just watch out for the drums at 4am calling the monks.Very freaky the first morning but got used to it after that and slept through.

Room Tip: Get the suite with the view of the river.Amazing and you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very nice new Thai-owned boutique-hotel in Luang Prabang: Very comfortable and clean rooms (however most don't have a direct view, so they're a bit dark). Very good breakfast in the hotel's restaurant directly at the Nam Khan river.
Good and powerful W-LAN coverage in whole building. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed 3 days at villa nagara and had to change my room every day as the rooms were booked. The personnel were in charge of everything and we had to do nothing. We could stayed at 3 of their rooms and even if there are bigger ones and other with views all of them are great and with charm. The rooms are very clean, the shower has very powerful hot water and the personnel is very nice. The hotel is very well placed, 1 block from the Main Street (but better because is quiest) and they give bicycles for free to the guests. I just can say that I loved my stay at villa nagara!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpaugom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
263 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our room was nice and comfortable beds - good A/C. The hotel nicely decorated. Good internet and outstanding location one block from the night market and and scores of nice restaurants. Breakfast on the terrace across the street overlooking the river. Breakfast good, not great. Service staff very good. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel location is superb not too busy, opposite to peaceful Khan river and close to all attraction places. The hotel is tasefully decorated, neat and very clean. There are variety choices of set breakfast items and good quality. The staffs are friendly and helpful. I lost my phone outside the hotel, the staff helped me by keep calling my phone but someone already got it. Transfer rate from hotel to/ from Airport was reasonable price; the van is very new, the driver is punctual and polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeawJit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nagara

Property: Villa Nagara
Address: 59/4 Soukkaseum Road | Baan Vatsan, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nagara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Nagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing