We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what expected, can get better”
Review of Villa Nagara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Nagara
Ranked #39 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We thought about spending a few extra dollars and stay here because of all the good reviews, but you can definitely get better deals at other hotels.
The staff is nice and the rooms are clean and tidy. However, the breakfast was awful: they don't have tables inside so they serve it on the sidewalk by the river (one would think it's pretty and romantic, true, but there's also a very cold morning breeze that will have you eat cold breakfast with a jacket on), don't know what they'd do on a rainy day, and more importantly that's not American breakfast (giving you a checklist of things you would like them to bring, at their own pace?). The Internet was very, I repeat, very dodgy and we were unable to hold a connection for more than 3 minutes with any device other than my laptop (say phone or tablet). We booked a king size bed but got 2 twins put together instead. The breaks on the free bikes barely worked. I can probably list a few other things that don't spring to mind right now, but you get the idea. They have potential, but they need to work hard to get there with all the other options you have around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nusenovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 109 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Small boutique hotel with nicely decorated rooms. They have small restaurant across the street with nice breakfast and excellent dishes for lunch and dinner.

Great location as it is one block away from the main street where there are plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Book a Jr. Suite. Those rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexmurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Located right on the banks of the Nam Khan river , stayed in a river view suite for 5 nights.
Beautiful room with balcony overlooking the river. Complimentary mini bar of 3 beer lao and 3 coke a day a very nice touch.
Staff English not great - but very nice and you get by. Would stay here again for sure !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54Bulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very nice hotel , just by the river on quiet street. Beautiful old renovated Colonial building , top-class rooms , very nice staff and a lovely stay all-in-all , breakfast on the river was very good. I recommend this hotel and would consider it again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for three nights and found this a great place to stay. The staff were really attentive and friendly. The location was perfect for us( not party animals any more sadly ) quiet yet close to everything. The bikes were really handy and we used them every day. Had a few problems with water cutting off but staff fixed it immediately. We were cheap and chose the cheapest room (4) would in hindsight recommend paying a bit more as guests going past either late at night or early for the monks made a bit of noise . The American breakfast was ok but..... If you order the night before you can get a great Laotian breakfast. Well worth it. Car to airport was competitive and reliable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerryls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a modern boutique hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang. The rooms are clean as can be and tastefully decorated in modern Asian style. The staff couldn't be more helpful. We loved it, and lP , so much we extended our stay for a week and felt like we were coming home every evening (to our own French colonial mansion lol). I've never felt so compelled to write such a positive review but this place is just great. We had breakfast on the river every morning, free bicycles and 3 free BeerLaus every day. And the bed is the best we slept on during the first month of our trip. When I re turn I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Such a nice hotel!!as soon as we arrived, we received a fresh orange juice as a welcome cocktail + we've been told we were upgraded in a suite!!perfect star :) the complex is wonderful, the location is literally perfect, staff very friendly + breakfast is served on a outside terrace overlooking the river!!just beautiful!
the only con was that our room was just attached to the reception, meaning we could here everything, which was quite annoying early in the morning..but still we've been upgraded and the room was fabulous, si we could not really complain!
Definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#36 of 68 in Luang Prabang
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jasmine Luangprabang Hotel
Jasmine Luangprabang Hotel
#11 of 155 in Luang Prabang
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara
Villa Chitdara
#12 of 268 in Luang Prabang
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Oudomlith
Villa Oudomlith
#9 of 268 in Luang Prabang
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Vongprachan Hotel
Maison Vongprachan Hotel
#8 of 155 in Luang Prabang
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Villa by Burasari
Sunset Villa by Burasari
#7 of 155 in Luang Prabang
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nagara

Address: 59/4 Soukkaseum Road | Baan Vatsan, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $53 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nagara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Nagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing