We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but overpriced”
Review of Villa Nagara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Nagara
Ranked #32 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice, but overpriced”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in Feb. This was a nice place to stay in Luang Prabang, but it seemed REALLY overpriced for what it was. I had much higher expectations for the price I was paying in a poor country (though to be fair Laos was a lot more expensive for everything than I expected-- something that I heard lots of people saying).

The room was clean and comfortable, wifi worked well, staff was nice and helpful, and the free minibar was a nice touch. There was nothing WRONG, it just didn't have the spark I expected for how much I paid. I paid less for a LOT more in Vientiane.

Be careful on the stairs (I fell down the last four once and almost fell three more times). They're narrow, steep, and slippery wood. You have to take your shoes off before you walk up them, so if you're wearing socks it can be a bad combo.

Breakfast was nothing special. I didn't even bother eating it my last morning before I flew out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
53
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed3 nights in the Grand Suite Balcony room on the first floor, it had a lovely view of the river (Nam Khan). The room is beautifully presented, quite large, modern bathroom, dark timber furniture. The free minibar is a nice touch. It is in the perfect location, one block from the main street, the offering of food for the monks (alms) takes place on the main road in the block just behind. Great wifi connection, strong signal. Staff are freindly and helpful. We really enjoyed starting the day with breakfast is serviced across the road on the river, it was pretty basic but really tasty and fresh. We highly recommend dining at the Blue Lagoon resturant up near the night markets down a side street opposite the Royal Palace Museum, we think best in LP. We love LP it had a great feel to it and would one day like to return for longer.

Now for the not so good, when my husband walked across the room the floor would shake, the floor was really bouncy, which would wake me up each morning as it would shake the bed, he is a tall man not overly big, but the whole room would shake like a herd of elephants. Maybe not an issue for slight built people. The room was a little noisy with some traffic noise and the obligatory resident rooster, I sleep with ear plugs so not an issue for me. The bed was also hard, but you come to expect that in Asia.

Room Tip: The green room was one down stairs near reception, I would avoid at all costs, as you could see in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Room No 3 on the ground floor, beautifully furnished and decorated, spotlessly clean, generously filled fridge with complementary drinks, tasteful bathroom: this is a 4 star rating!
Yet there are some seriousw constraints: the room is straight on the street, noisy, eevn if there is not aso much traffick, you are disturbed by every single motorbike as it feels as if it runs straight through the room. The rooms are not sound püroof, mind the gro9und fllor and this room next to the lobby, it is noisy throughout (no, the night betweeen 11pm and 5am is ok if the upper floor guests keep quiet!). Private balcony sits you on the road, it is useless.
Breakfast (included) is ridiculously called American. Why not serve a well done local breakfast or offer a variety, but well done? Well, the restaurant is poor, service and kitchen alike, not worth anything offered apart from nice seating with view.
So overall, it si not worth the price yet, but should have potential for improvement. Well done for room service staff!!

Room Tip: Room No 3 beautiful, yet noisy (on the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radlust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and really liked the location, which is just a short walk from the main street, and setting which is quiet with a terrace garden overlooking the river. One of the good things about the hotel was the free tea and coffee available both in the room and in the garden and a "free mini bar" which was 2 beers and 2 cokes everyday - very welcome.
Not so good was our room (see below) and probably needs a refresh; the furniture is a little tired - couldn't open most of the drawers.

Room Tip: I think we got the short straw on the room (5) which although it has a window, also has a high fence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Outstanding accommodation. Friendly, respectful and professional staff. Excellent location with only a short walk to lively night market, fantastic restaurants, eclectic bars and the river.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

First hotel in Laos and I was a little disappointed. Room was nice but single beds, not double as booked. Bathroom however was a nightmare! Shower leaked and matters got worse when the sink started to drain directly onto the floor, flooding the room. Despite reporting this on first day, no one came to repair until we were checking out four days later. I suspect this was because when I was having my final (dribbling) shower, several tiles fell off the wall on my foot! The staff seemed to fail to understand the seriousness of this, i.e. danger of cut feet.
Breakfast is served across the road by the river which sounds really romantic, however the reality is that there is a constant cold breeze off the river in the morning so we sat in coats and ate cold eggs!! Overall, location is good but I think there is better for less money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Nice, clean, big and well decorated rooms and friendly staff. Nice breakfast view, but quite long waiting for the food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nagara

Property: Villa Nagara
Address: 59/4 Soukkaseum Road | Baan Vatsan, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nagara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Nagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing