We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, fine B&B”
Review of Villa Nagara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Nagara
Ranked #38 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I would have rated this hotel a 5 star. I should be generous and do so. Perhaps it deserves it. If i could, it would be 4.5.

The Villa Nagara is in the perfect location, on the riverside of the Nam Khan, the best place to be, close to restaurants and market but not in the middle of all that. The hotel itself is cool, well decorated and thought out. The only point is the service - nobody speaks English. They are friendly, but this hotel is too expensive to not be able to ask a question or two. So - 4.5.

In terms of rooms, I had the best in the place, on the second floor, with balcony and windows onto the river. Other rooms are less attractive - my colleague was in a windowless room off the lobby. The room I was supposed to be in was also off the lobby, ground floor. So luckily I was upgraded. The room was big, amazing view, two free beers and two free cokes in the fridge each day! They specifically pointed that out to me, and I must admit it is an amenity I have never before run across. Also - have a beer at the bar next door - I think it is called the Blue Ice - their happy hour is quite reasonable and things pick up a bit later.

Pros - Location location locat.... Nice room, if you get one of the right ones. Well done, decorated nicely. Breakfast at the hotel's riverbank cafe.

Cons - Expensive vs other guest houses and B&Bs. You need to get one of the good rooms for it to be worth it. No English.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Villa Nagara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was in Southeast Asia for a month this summer, and Villa Nagara in Luang Prabang was my favorite hotel/guesthouse of the trip.

Location is fantastic- this place is a small historic building (completely remodeled) sitting on the Nam Khan river. It's just around the corner from the main street in Luang Prabang and a five minute walk to the night market.

We booked a standard room online, which ended up to be about $50 off the rack rate-- one of the many perks to traveling in Laos during low season! The room and guesthouse was exactly as pictured on their website- ultra modern, clean, completely new furnishings, just beautiful decor.

Our room had two single beds pushed together, a tv with plenty of channels, free (!) mini-bar stocked with Beer Lao, bottled water, and sodas. The bathroom was small, but still really nice- plenty of hot water, rainbath showerhead, and specially made organic herbal shampoos and soaps for use.

In the small lobby downstairs, there's a computer with internet that you can use for free. The staff (consisting mostly of young men) were incredibly accomodating and the manager even let me use his personal laptop when there was an issue with the computer! They also were great with helping me store luggage while I made a trip up north (didn't matter that I was staying elsewhere on my return).

Free breakfast is served on their little platform balcony overlooking the Nam Khan river. We loved this-- so peaceful in the morning and breakfast was delicious- you can choose eggs, fruits, coffee/tea, baguette, and the best fresh-squeezed orange juice ever. Definitely top notch.

Another perk of the place is their have some really cute old-school bikes out front that you can borrow for free to explore Luang Prabang. We had the best time dropping our gear into the bike baskets and heading off to visit the numerous temples, ride along Mekong river, and stop for a bite to eat on our way home. Given the lack of traffic, LP is great city for some leisurely cycling.

We really loved this little guesthouse- everything from location to the rooms to the staff is incredible. If you can get a room here during the rainy season (which really wasn't that rainy), the place is an insanely good bargain as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cintagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

First up I need to get the bias out of the way; I turn on the tv upon arrival and the Saints v Doggies are live - awesome! 46 other channels buy the way and I note something not available in hotels in Australia (apparently a first world country). Very good location riverside and only a 1 minute walk from the main drag. Only 8 rooms and this really contributes to the guesthouse feel albeit quite high end. Heaps of character with liberal use of recyled wood. Handful of complimentary Coke, beer and water is a nice touch, as is the functional and free wifi. Staff pleasant but a little tough to communicate with. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewWoodend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed this small, cute hotel. The building had a lot of character and charm, but the rooms were very modern, nicely decorated, and clean. Drinks provided in the mini-bar were free and breakfast was western style made to order. Location on the river was also very nice, Luang Prabang is small enough you can walk everywhere. The hotel also provided free use of bikes but we didn't get a chance to use them. The only negatives are that the staff's English was a bit limited, but they were extremely friendly and nice. Also reception locks the front door at 11pm so if you plan to stay out later you have to make arrangements for someone to stay to let you back in. We had a difficult time finding the hotel as we arrived by shared tuk tuk to the city centre. Nobody we asked knew it by name or the address so best you print a Google map to help you find the way. Laos, especially Luang Prabang was totally amazing, I only regret not having more time to relax there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

The villa was an old colonial house. The rooms were well converted into corfortable modern suites/rooms and are well maintained. The location is great overlooking a tributary of the Mekong and 50 meter walk from the main street of Luang Prabang. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Dining is on a patio deck overlooking the river. Only had the included breakfast but was more than adequate.The town itself is peaceful and the sound of a horn is the exception not the norm.

Room Tip: A front / street / river room is best. Same rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sulla strada bella vista sul ponte di bambù, però si sente il rumore del traffico
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peder22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#36 of 68 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#23 of 68 in Luang Prabang
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
#29 of 266 in Luang Prabang
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jasmine Luangprabang Hotel
Jasmine Luangprabang Hotel
#10 of 153 in Luang Prabang
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Villa by Burasari
Sunset Villa by Burasari
#7 of 153 in Luang Prabang
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinnaly Guesthouse
Kinnaly Guesthouse
#32 of 266 in Luang Prabang
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nagara

Address: 59/4 Soukkaseum Road | Baan Vatsan, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $45 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nagara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Nagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing