We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Ambiance”

Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food and Ambiance”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food was great, especially the desserts and service very good. Ate here several times during our stay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    236
    53
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“After 3 months traveling I really wanted a burger”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I went in search of a burger and had a terrible, nearly in edible one in Pilgrim Cafe ( I reviewed it). I nearly gave up but the craving was still there so I took a chance here. It was a GREAT choice! I was actually asked how I wanted my meat cooked. A real hamburger arrived to my table! A fresh sesame seed bun, a generous patty, grilled onions, tomato and fresh lettuce. It was accompanied by great fries and a salad of micro greens.yum! My burger craving was satisfied. Think ill go back for breakfast tomorrow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A lovely place for morning coffee with a croissant”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I wish I had found this lovely cafe earlier in our stay. Once I found it, I made sure my friend and I had coffee there on our last two days in Luang Prabang. The staff are very friendly and service is excellent, as is the strong black coffee. I tried a couple of their pastries and particularly enjoyed the butter croissant with delicious jams. If I return to Luang Prabang (and I do hope to) I will go to Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene every day for morning or afternoon tea. To be fair, I should probably also try its meals for lunch or dinner some time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed spot with great food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had lunch here and both Lao hot and sour soup and the river weed quiche were delicious. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandT_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good food with leisurely service.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here a couple of times and enjoyed both the Laotian and the French food and everything on other people's plates looked wonderful including baguette sandwiches big enough for a family of four!
Their ginger tea is strong, sweet and delicious and just the thing to wash down one of their lemon curd tart which are absolute perfection to the extent that I developed an addiction and popped in to grab one every time I went past which was fairly frecuently as it was right opposite our hotel. My husband reports that the apple pie and eclair were excellent too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing