We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Lao food at a nice riverfront location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosella Fusion Restaurant

Rosella Fusion Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 200 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Rosella Fusion Restaurant is a friendly, family owned restaurant in the centre of Luang Prabang. Customers enjoy meals on our wooden terrace overlooking the beautiful Nam Khan river. The cuisine is a mixture of Lao and Western and is crafted by our Australian qualified Lao chef. It's a great place for lunch and dinner as well as a relaxing afternoon, watching local life on the riverbank, and a well priced evening cocktail.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Lao food at a nice riverfront location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We ate several times at Rosella during our stay in Luang Prabang and enjoyed every single time. Here you get it all: Very friendly service, beautiful location (outdoor seating) and delicious Lao food at reasonable prices...
When the restaurant is full, it may take some time until the meal is served - but worth the wait.
Enjoy :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zyttrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    114
    29
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The food was disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The location is great, the service is questionable (even if on Laos time) and the food is most disappointing. And the menu beyond our meal wasn't very inspirational.
The value is decent, but do yourself a favour and book across the road at Tamarind and you will be pleased with the occasion.
Maybe Rosella needs another chance, but it isn't open for breakfast, as advertised, and the meals we had were very basic and unimpressive considering the amazing choice in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth the walk...................”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Rosella Fusion is a little way off the main street - but offers the opportunity to include it in a loop to include the night market.

A very nice place to eat. The food, service and location was very good. The perfect spot for a quiet meal - there's only 7/8 tables, all outside. Prices were reasonable and although the service was a little slow, we weren't in a hurry and we took it as fitting with a relaxed atmosphere!

Definitely recommend..................

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hard for us to find but glad we did”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

It was pretty dark when we went down to Kingkitsarat Rd looking for Rosella Fusion. We did see the terrace, the lights and the tables when we first walked past it but we didn't see the sign. And, since there was no sign of any cooking being done we assumed this terrace was just a bar.

After a bit more walking around in the dark we eventually saw the sign and went in and sat down. (We need to pay more attention to the reviews!) It was then that we learned why we didn't see any cooking going on. It was all being done in a building across the street.

Though it took us a while to find this restaurant, we're very glad we did because this turned out to be our favorite meal in Luang Prabang. We shared Beef Laap Salad, Pork Stirfry with Lemongrass and Vegetables, steamed rice, a small carafe of wine and tea. The bill was about $25. Do bring cash as credit cards are not accepted

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We ate lunch here on the banks above the river and enjoyed the meal. The chicken laab was delicious and a good serving portion. My husband had fried chicken noodles with ground peanuts and he also deemed them to be very good. The prices were reasonable as was the service, though perhaps a little slow, although the food was worth waiting for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosella Fusion Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Rosella Fusion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing