We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in best part of town”
Review of Thida Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thida Guesthouse
Ranked #148 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great stay at Thida. Luang Prabang is compact overall, but this is a really good location and many do the accommodations in this area are higher priced than Thida. We stayed for 4 nights total, extending from our original booking of 3 and they honored the cheaper online rate we paid. Staff were really pleasant, and if you catch the couple who owns the place (I presume) they both speak excellent English and can give some local tips.

The wifi did not work. After being in Laos 3 weeks had no expectation of connectivity so didn't even phase us but heard another couple complaining. Shift your expectations a bit. Also this town is filled with some lovely French bakeries where you can get your computer time on, so no worries!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Thida Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 51 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Thida is in a great location, a short walk from the main strip and night market.

The hotel is also reasonably priced, and had a very nice room. The TV didn't really work - but we weren't there to watch tele!

The staff were very helpful and helped out with everything. They held ours bags on the last day free of charge and organised a Tuk Tuk to the airport (not free).

Our only annoyance was the intermitant wifi. It struggled to connect, but a couple of times we were able to get on and use it. However, it's like that everywhere in Laos.

Great stay, would recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris2hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The place is located in the area where there are some of the highest end hotels, so to get a charming room for 35 USD a night is a steal. Thida is just a 30 second walk to the riverside sidewalk, so of course, the location is fantastic. Lots of great restaurants are available within walking distance.

The shower was amazing - great water pressure and hot. We were there during a cold spell, so I was using the shower several times a day to warm up.

We were in the room just beside the reception, which, due to the positioning, was quite dark, but that was welcome in the morning as it encouraged us to sleep in.

The staff (family run perhaps) were all very sweet. I think I dealt with the father and son of the guesthouse, and both had me convinced that Lao people are some of the kindest I've encounted.

There was also plenty of room to spread out for us - we had an extra single bed and plenty of hooks on the wall to hang things up. Laundry service was fine at 10000kip/kg.

Now the cons: the wifi was so slow it was almost unusable. There was (don't be alarmed here) a mouse under the large comforter on the chair beside the bed when we arrived. If it was a rat, I would have been upset, but given the age of the place and that they've kept the charming wooden structure of the house, it is understandable that a mouse might be able to squeeze through the baseboards in search of warmth. Not a big deal at all, and in fact, a fun first few minutes in our room.

Overall, a great find in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: The rooms up top will likely offer more natural light, but the one below across from reception (not...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

With clean and comfortable rooms, hot shower, wifi works but little bit slow. Excellent located near main street, night market, wat and amazing restaurant named L’elephant.

The staff was lovely and I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro_Neves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very unassuming and cute place. Staff is very gentle and helpful even though not very available. Overall a really charming little place bang in the centre of luang probing. i would go back and stay for longer

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at Thida Guesthouse in late November 2013, booking online. The location was excellent, being a 30 second walk from the river bank and a 5 minute walk to the main street. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and rooms clean. The AC definitely worked a treat! Almost too well. The wifi worked maybe half the times we attempted over our 4 night stay. The staff were good, helpful when asked. Would stay here again! Sho

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownThongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Made a booking in advance via Thida's website. Arrived at 7pm to find that our booking was either never made or that our room had been given away (despite me providing plane arrival time). The lady offered us a room downstairs just off the foyer for the night and then said we could move upstairs to our room the next day. We accepted - big mistake! Rooms 1 and 2 are obviously only used when the guest house is full. They are very small, very noisy and obviously not cleaned often.
The next day we were informed that we couldn't move upstairs as the people staying in our room had decided to stay an extra night. So we stayed in the small room another night. In retrospect we should have just moved to another guest house.
When we finally got to move upstairs we found the room to be very large and quiet.
We found that most of the time it was impossible to find someone who worked there if you wanted any assistance. The older lady was very friendly, but overall the staff didn't seem to care.
The best thing about this guest house is it's location. If you get offered rooms 1 or 2, I would leave and find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ellpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 68 in Luang Prabang
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thida Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thida Guesthouse

Address: Ban Phone Heuang | Phaya Luang-Muang Chanh, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thida Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thida Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing