We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and absolutely lovely”
Review of Thida Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thida Guesthouse
Ranked #148 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a beautiful guesthouse that is excellently located. The rooms are spacious and it was one of a few that were able to accommodate three people. The owner is really lovely, helpful and friendly. We called to book a day in advance and said we would arrive at night and as we were in a tuk tuk going up and down the road trying to find the place, someone from the hotel came out to get us as they were expecting us. They have bicycles to rent and it's just a lovely place to stay and is a few steps away from the river.

Room Tip: The upstairs corner room is beautiful and bright with windows opening on two sides over a lovely sid...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Thida Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 51 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

The minute we walked into this place we felt at home. The man who runs it speaks English really well and is also really helpful. LP turned out to be one of our favourite places in SEA so far so we ended up staying 5 nights. Our room was serviced everyday and when our TV didn't work they replaced it with another one no questions asked. One night we, and another couple staying at the guesthouse, stayed out late past the midnight curfew. When we returned we found the door open and received no hassle about staying out too late. There is also a really lovely little corner store type place just up the street which sells water, beer and, my personal favourite, freshly made spicy noodle soup. We really couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thida GH is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are just beautiful and extremely well kept, the upstairs ones even have a lovely terrace. It's great value for money and the location is really nice, next to the Mekong and a 5mns walk from the main touristy street and the temples. The owner speeks fluent french and english. A great option, highly recommandable!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I walked into Thida Guesthouse while trekking around for a mid-range (for Laos) room and I definitely found one of the best. Thida Guest house is close to the water and close to the action, but far enough away from the 'crazy night life' of Luang Prabang.

note; I'm being completely sarcastic about the night life. Luang Prabang is one of the quietest cities I've stayed in in all my travels in South East Asia.

The Lobby and the hotel itself is simple but elegant with a computer downstairs for guest usage, free wifi in all rooms and lobby. The hotel staff, owner and children?, are kind and courteous and very willing to help.

The room I stayed in "3" is large with high ceilings, overhead fans and lighting, large comforter, dressing table, soap, hot shower, mosquito net (although I didn't need it) multiple outlets, wifi, a tv (that I didn't use,) AC included although during the rainy season the fan was more than sufficient. Room 3 has three windows, all with shutters and mosquito screens. I usually get eaten alive by mosquitoes, but I even left the shutters open one night and didn't get bit!

Within walking distance of all the Luang Prabang city highlights... ok not the caves or waterfalls but the temples, bars, museum and night market are quite close.

I highly recommend this guesthouse.

Laundry and bicycles are available for reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Room 3 faces the street but I slept like a log, even with the windows open. Very large room, very c...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALeejelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spacious and clean room, with a beautiful wooden four poster bed, as well as a big bathroom with a rain shower. This room was beautiful - we could also pull open our wooden window shutters and have the bottom half of the room open with a view of the river. This is the room on the ground floor on the left as you walk in to the guesthouse. Best one I think! Another good thing about this place is that if you get up early you can see the monks walk along the top of the street getting offerings from the local people.

The owner and I think it was his son were lovely and friendly and even helped us out at 6am when the tuk tuk didn't come to pick us up to get us to the bus station - they rang the company and sorted it all out for us. Flagged a tuk tuk down that we didn't have to pay for and got us to the bus station in the nick of time - well if you count running in the path of moving double decker!! :/

I loved Luang Prabang - it was a luxurious stop I made twice during my time travelling around Asia. You have top notch French restaurants, but also such a variety of food here, many budget restaurants too. Lots of cheaper places to eat, the night market is very good!

Room Tip: The first ground floor room on the left as you walk to the guesthouse reception.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The guesthouse is really good, clean and quiet. The owner is a famous doctor in pediatrician who speaks both French and English and whose house and well-known clinic is right in front. The staff is nice and friendly, only one permanent guy who doesn't speak/understand English. Furniture, stairs and corridor are wood-coated. Rooms and beds are comfortable. Wide bathroom with hot water all day. Good aircon but if you want to enjoy the clean and fresh outdoor atmosphere you can open the window and/or use fans. The stairs are quite too sloping though. Wifi fine. Good price/quality. Highly recommended for families with kids.

Room Tip: Take the biggest room with windows on the quiet street and 2 big bed rooms with $35 w/o breakfast an...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zea_hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The room was nice and spacious, with a big bed, tv, nice bathroom with a ‘rain shower’ and free tea and coffee. We had breakfast here a couple of times and it was good. Whilst we were here there were a few issues such as the internet not working for over a day and at one point there was no water in our bathroom. When we went down the staff were aware of the problem and did fix the water, but we decided to just visit one of the nice cafes in town for wifi. The lad that was working there was friendly but didn’t always seem to understand what we were asking him. We booked online in advance because we didn’t want to arrive late without a hotel, and because of this felt we paid a bit too much, but ended up extending our stay at a cheaper rate once we got there. It was a 5 minute walk to the main street that has the night market on, and even less to Wat Xieng Thong. Luang Prabang was such a lovely town to stay in and we inevitably ended up staying here longer than planned.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 68 in Luang Prabang
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thida Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thida Guesthouse

Address: Ban Phone Heuang | Phaya Luang-Muang Chanh, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thida Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thida Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing