We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money - and clean room”
Review of Thida Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thida Guesthouse
Ranked #148 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money - and clean room”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We are currently staying at this guesthouse. It is more "guesthouse" than hotel. Yesterday we had to wait a little in the reception before someone came. That is not a bad thing though :)
The room is spotless clean and with the usual amenities: Tv, AC, fan, mosqito net (not that we use it) and alright bathroom. Not fridge though.
All in all it is good value for money compared to some of the other and way more expensive alternatives in town. It is placed just behind the building closest to the riverfront (Mekong River) and there is no noise here. Everything in LP is within walking distance so location is alright. We booked through agoda.com.
Breakfast was quite simple with omelet, tea, bread and some uncut fruit. Nothing fancy but sufficient :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookingfordru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
7
25
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Accommodations in Luang Prabang are more expensive than most of the rest of the countries in SE Asia. Spent the first 2 full days of our 6 day visit to Luang Prabang in January 2012 visiting every guest house that could accommodate 3 persons/family in one room. Thida Guesthouse had the best rate ($30 including breakfast for all 3). On top of that the room and bath are perfect, in fact I think they have recently done some remodeling because it looked like a brand new room (#9 downstairs).
Bathroom is spacious with nice hot water "rain" shower. Some rooms have mosquito netting but ours did not. Nonetheless none of us got any bites from mozzies, although we did see a few flying around the room at times. They didn't seem aggressive at all; perhaps they become more active when the weather is hotter. While the room initially smelled a bit musty (stones throw from the Mekong after all) there is a strong, quiet exhaust fan that circulated fresh air right away. All rooms have air con but we never even turned it on.
Location was fine for us. Perhaps 5-7 minute walk away from the night market further out along the peninsula, surrounded by lovely guesthouses and tons of restaurants. We ate like kings every night in LP for around $10 for the 3 of us, which included at least 3 big bottles of Lao beer with each meal. The food in LP was very good, but then we ate local food every meal. Close to Thai but not nearly as spicey. I swear I could eat the grilled chicken on a stick with sticky rice every day without complaint! Curries were very good as well though not as spicey as we like - but loads of flavor and just right for those who prefer less spice than the full-on Thai variety..
Like I said earlier Thida is perhaps 25 steps away from the river which can be seen from the front porch which is where breakfast is served. Quiet, friendly helpful staff (especially Choi). All in all I have no reservations with recommending Thida Guesthouse. Would have given it top marks but there are better locations and nicer appointments (aren't there always?). Only wish they offered "real" coffee instead of instant.

Room Tip: Mosquito netting in some of the rooms is a romantic (and perhaps practical) touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Had a great stay at Thida Guesthouse in Jan '12. The beds are comfortable, the shower consistently hot and excellent pressure and the rooms spacious.
Rooms 7 and 12 would be the pick, although slightly more expensive. Lovely large rooms - our room #4 was very decent. equivalent of around a 3-3.5star place. The shower (in our room) needs a little repairwork (needed to hold the showerhead while showering as the neck didnt fit the wall mount) and the room smelt a tad musty to begin with, once aired out though it was fine.
The owner is a lovely man who was very helpful during our stay. I would definitely recommend Thida to anyone who wanted to stay in LP.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcandjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Firstly, great hot shower! Best so far in Laos. Comfortable clean bed too, so off to a great start. The thing that makes this guesthouse in our opinion is the helpful owner - he organised a motorbike for us to use one day and was always ready to give advice. The rooms are clean - the only room for improvement would be more storage space in the bathroom? but a minor niggle really. The guesthouse is close to the riverside, and a very short walk to restaurants there or the Night Market. Excellent location and a great stay over all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houligans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at Thida Guesthouse in November and had a very well furnished and spotlessly clean room. Also the bathroom was spacious and clean. There is a cosy veranda-area on the first floor, where you can drink a coffee or tea (complementary) and relax while reading a book. Breakfast was not available during our stay, but there are lots of great cafés just around the corner where you will find your favourite easily. We rented once bicycles and once a motorbike from the guesthouse which was a good possibility to see the city and its surroundings. Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We ended up staying at Thida Guesthouse for a week, the room was spacious, bed comfortable and they had the best shower (really appreciated after the river boat trip down from Nong Khiaw). There were also coffee and tea making facilities just outside our room.

The guesthouse is in a brilliant location, minutes walk from the main street and night market and very close to La Banneton with its delightful croissants.

Staff were friendly and helped us to organise our tickets for onward travel. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeeeve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Level Contributor
155 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We decided to stay at Thida guesthouse after reading the 5 reviews on trip advisor...we are so glad we did. It is an attractive old guesthouse with polished wood, the price was great, the welcome was very friendly and the room and bathroom very clean. The owner and his young assistant were very helpful in every way. Great location, short walk to both rivers and the nightlife. No breakfast but went to Saffron cafe round the corner every day for a great breakfast and they do the most amazing pancakes too ! We would definately recommend staying here......

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thida Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thida Guesthouse

Property: Thida Guesthouse
Address: Ban Phone Heuang | Phaya Luang-Muang Chanh, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thida Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thida Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing