We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mekong Charm Guest House
Ranked #194 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have also travelled extensively in South East Asia every year and Luang Prabang and Mekong Guest House are wonderful, our favourite guest house and town and in fact I was very sad to leave. This was our third visit to this beautiful town, I would return any day if I could and never leave.
The guest house manager and his wife and son are a delight, we think without Khong's management and personal skills this place wouldn't have the same attraction. We were treated almost as a family member and felt quite at home here. We will be back for sure next year I hope. Our upstairs room overlooking the Mekong River was beautiful and with a very comfortable bed, not hard like many places in Laos.
We stayed two weeks all up and loved it. I hope the owners realise what a good person they have as a manager, he is a real asset. My only small complaint is that two bathrooms upstairs need some work. Not so bad but just simple shower stalls with a screen would be quite adequate not what hey have at present, but the water was hot and it was clean. Can't wait for next visit at Mekong Charm Guest House. I would have added excellent except for the bathrooms, not that bad though so don't let that put you off.

Room Tip: The corner upstairs room with Doctor Who shower is the best. You will know what i mean when you see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevino8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at the Mekong Charm for 8 nights. Originally we planned to stay in Luang Prabang for only 5. Staying here was one of the most magical and memorable experiences we have ever had. Having travelled through Asia extensively this place was spectacular. Our first night was a couple of guesthouses down the road at the Calao guesthouse. Nice, but not much customer service and view from the balcony was blocked by trees. We were stunned by the look of the Mekong Guesthouse, its views and atmosphere. We paid USD$50 for a balcony room. Clear views of the Mekong from the bedroom and also downstairs while having breakfast on the terrace. The staff, Mr Khong and Mr Do could not do enough for us and we have become firm friends. This place, those people and the views really touched our hearts and to be paying USD$50 a night is value beyond belief. If you ever come to Luang Prabang this is the place to spend your first night and then best of luck finding anything else like it. We will be back many times. Michael and Monika Adelaide,Australia

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelandMonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euroa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Good clean room with Mekong view but the customer service was terrible, and no atmosphere whatsoever - for example could not get a coffee though this was advertised, ants in the tea pot when we finally managed to convince the person in charge that a drink would would be nice...pity as it has the potential to be a good guesthouse if there was an iota of customer service provided

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We spent four nights in this guest house and were instantly captivated by the view from our bedroom, which was of the Mekong River. The bed linen was clean and good quality cotton, the pillows were feather and the price was so much better value at $50 compared to other comparable guest houses. The rooms were a bit dark for reading - they could do with bedside lamps. Otherwise Taykeo was a wonderful hostess, a mine of information about the town and Laos. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewZealandRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I stayed there with my boyfriend for 4 nights. We really enjoyed our mekong view room and the breakfast on the terrasse. We were very close to the boat for the Pak Ou cave. It was a pleasure to chat with the owner, Taykeo, and to rest in this quiet place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqueline_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Oudomlith
Villa Oudomlith
#10 of 260 in Luang Prabang
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Charm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Charm Guest House

Property: Mekong Charm Guest House
Address: 57 Ounkham Road | Ban Phonheuang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mekong Charm Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Charm Guesthouse is a Lao style wooden house of rosewood located in the city center, on the way very convenient for walking, near the Mekong River, close to Wat Xiengthong, restaurants, market, Exchange unit, business areas etc... Mekong Charm Guesthouse offers 9 large bedrooms tastefully decorated and an atmosphere of fine service, friendships, courtesy and genuine Hospitality. Room Amenities Include Air-conditioning, Cable TV, Fridge, Private bathroom with hot water, free WIFI... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mekong Charm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing