We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stylish and Classy”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This an absolutely luxurious property , service with old world charm.

Far enough away from the town center to avoid the hustle and bustle ( not that there is too much of this in this beautiful heritage city ).

A great pool area with efficient pool attendants , spacious surrounds with sprawling manicured gardens.

The suite its self was roomy and cool with the most comfortable bed in S E Asia , a big statement I know but I have slept in hundreds and this one takes the cake.

All the little extra's , turn down service with nightly gift , a la carte breakfast.

Take a stroll to the rear of the property and view the large organic vegetable garden , no wonder the vegies taste so fresh.

I thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: All rooms are good no need to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazkiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    66
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
117
288
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed with the family for one week. Rooms are very nice (old colonial charm) and spacious. F&B is great. Service good but not outstanding. Location,as in general Luang Prabang is peaceful. The perfect hotels and location for those who need some peaceful rest in their hectic life.

Room Tip: Better the Explorator rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

just spent 2 nites there we wanted 3 nites but the hotel seem to sold for 1 of the nites
that we wanted I can understand why. we had a great stay there. the staff is wonderful.
the food was great ! I just can't say enough about the experience ther other than it was just to
short

Room Tip: if you can get one of the suites in the main building. and don't worry about being not right i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel deserves the raves it has received . We spent 3 nights here in July and were surprised to find there was only a few rooms occupied.

The staff were most friendly and keen to engage in conversation and offer much needed advice .I was interested to know that the management engages an English teacher for the staff and he must be going a good job as there was never a language problem They all went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable and memorable.

We dined in one night and I must say the menu was as one would expect in a 5star dining room, and the meal was superb. The breakfasts were just as good.

The 4 poster bed , the decor of our room , the gardens just add to our pleasant memories.
I just hope that this hotel survives and flourishes - it deserves to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaydee-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Luang Say Residence for 4 days, and didn't want to leave. The service can't be beat - you feel like it is your own home. We stayed in one of the Explorer rooms - the room was very spacious and clean. Besides the service, the best part about our stay was how good and abundant the included breakfast is. We loved Luang Prabang, probably a little more because of our wonderful stay at the Residence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurahuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really one of the nicest places we have stayed. The colonial design around lovely well kept gardens is very relaxing and the staff are very friendly and attentive.

The food is good and the service excellent. Whilst the room rates are competitive for a world class hotel, the F&B prices are a little steep. The bar was a great place for a relaxing sundowner but only the buy one get one free made it worth paying US$8 for a bottle of local beer that sold for $2-3 at most other places in LP. No wonder the bar was empty for almost all of our 5 night stay.

If only the prices were better, this would even be a destination for visitors staying in one of LPs many other hotels & guest houses. Instead, we used the complimentary transport the short distance into town a couple of evenings to enjoy riverside food & drink at a fraction of the price.

Other nights though, we were happy to pay the inflated prices because the ambience was so nice, just a shame we were almost always the only people drinking in the bar or eating in the restaurant.

Would still give this place our strongest recommendation though. Delightful hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SphereHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Luang Say Residences. The hotel is designed in the classic french colonial style and has a very warm and friendly feeling. We stayed in the Explorator Suite which was well decorated and had a great veranda where you can relax with a cocktail. The pool looked nice but given the weather wasn't great we didn't take advantage of the facilities.

The staff were amazing, detailed orientated and very friendly. Upon arrival they greeted us personally and quickly got us checked in and luggage up to the room. We had several request during our stay and they were solved very quickly including to help us to arrange a tour, book travel, and transport to and from the airport. We got caught in a rainstorm one evening and called the hotel (as the tuk-tuk's were not be found) and they arrange to do a complimentary pickup for us....saving us from being drenched!

The on property restaurant is ranked separately on tripadvisor; the food was good but I wouldn't really say that the cuisine is very "french". It seemed more geared towards high end local food and continental with a mix of pizza, burgers, steak and lamb. The breakfast was included as a part of our package; and it was a good starting point for the days activities. The place was largely empty but that could have been due to the rainy season.

For those contemplating a stay there are 3 seasons :

High Season : Jan - Apr 30
Peak Season : 20 Dec - 6 Jan
Green Season : 1 May - 30 Sep (i.e. rainy season)

You will find great deals on the the travel sites for booking the rooms below rack rate and breakfast and wifi is included.

Luang Prabang is still very much developing...its a small laid back town with a "traveler" vibe. This hotel is clearly a "higher end" property so it must be taken with some thought before you commit. We would definitely come back to explore more but might like to try a slightly drier season.

Room Tip: The Explorator Suits are the nicest on the property (with only 4 on the property). They are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsubasa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
754 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Property: The Luang Say Residence
Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing