We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial charm in Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Colonial charm in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arriving at this beautiful hotel you already get a taste of what to expect. Entrance and lobby area is how you would expect the France colonialists to live in old times but guess they would not have had such smiling and attending staff as Luang Say Residence can proud them self off.

The short walk to the room (all suites) is a small excursion in it self, as the garden is beautiful and compromises more spices on display than most well equipped garden centers around the world can produce.

The rooms are located in separate villas with 4 rooms in each. Spacious and tasteful decorated, which makes you fell at home right from the beginning.

I could continue writing praises for this hotel but will end here and conclude: This place is simply just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    66
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
118
295
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautifully renovated property with meticulous attention to all details colonial. We stayed in the Exploratory Suite which was lovely, large and luxurious. The bath room was tastefully decorated and again decadently large. The restaurant was memorable, elegantly decorated, and importantly, the Chef was able to handle perfectly a menu of traditional French cuisine alongside Laos local dishes. A great wine selection was available which helped top it all off. Our best meals were had here during our stay in Luang Prabang. The service was at all times, friendly, polite, and attentive at all times. Thank you for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a recent 38-day tour of Laos, Thailand, Myanmar, Bhutan, and Nepal. Laos was the first country we visited, so the Luang Say Residence was one of our first hotels. We stayed in some fabulous hotels later, but we still picture our time in the lovely, peaceful hotel as some of our most enjoyable hours. The rooms are among the most spacious we stayed in and were beautifully decorated. The food was quite good at breakfast and dinner. This hotel should be the choice for visitors when in this part of Laos

Room Tip: We stayed in a room just behind the main building and liked the convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLKathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is my 2nd return to Luang Phrabang and I still prefer 'The Luang Say Residence' because of away from town only 5 minutes by bicycle. You can enjoy colonial building, elegance, wonderful staff, great food (we really enjoy your food!), good atmostphere, excellent service, superb quality of afternoon tea, huge swimming pool, charm decoration and many more.

I'm so much enjoyed during stay there (3 nights) with my best friend, we went out for try laos coffee, local food (papaya salad), gallery & museum, local market, shopping, offer food to monks early in the morning by hotel bicycles which is not far from town (only 3-5 minutes by ride bicycle). We also went to Kwang Si Waterfall, such a beautiful waterfall and could not believe the color of this waterfall.

We will definitely return to The Luang Say Residence because it's worth for our money and I still remember my best dinner with my friend at La Belle Epoque.

Can't wait for my 3rd return at suite room!

Nok

Room Tip: Strong recommend to sit and enjoy yourself at balcony of explorator suite (located on the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_RuenTamarind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A beautiful property a short ride away from the historic centre offering the ultimate of luxury, peace and tranquility in this beautiful town. The rooms are incredibly spacious and 'colonial' in style yet offer all what a discerning traveller wants. We had breakfast and dinner on two occasions - just couldn't be bothered to go into town and found the ambience perfect for the end of a strenuous day of sightseeing. The menu was international with a whole page dedicated to Lao specialities. The wine list was perfect too. If I could give an Oscar - I would and it would primarily go to to the staff who make The Luang Say and even more memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Luang Say Residence is a fantastic hotel, just 10 minutes cycle ride out of the main centre of Luang Prabang.

Nothing is too much trouble here. The staff are incredibly attentive - and all deliver exceptional service.

The rooms are clean, bright and large.

Breakfasts here are plentiful (in fact, sometimes far too much and lots goes to waste). And the restaurant is outstanding for dinner too.

All in all, a fabulous place - albeit quite pricey compared to other hotels in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have nicer views of the complex - but there are no lifts to get upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelexpertdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is excellent in all details.

The gardens are beautiful, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and great bathroom. Service was 5 stars, thanks to the availability and helpfulness with excellent recommendations for tours and activities!

The restaurant La Belle Epoque overlooks the wonderful lush garden and altogether a very peaceful environment to dine, the food is superb, local ingredients from their own organic garden.

Pool Service was outstanding with always a staff on-hand to serve you some food and drinks.

I cannot wait to go back to stay again at this wonderful property and will highly recommend it to my friends!

Room Tip: Try to get a Room at the back of the hotel which has a wonderful overlooking view on the organic gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanMichelR293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Property: The Luang Say Residence
Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing