We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Resort with great details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Resort with great details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I really don't know where to start. This place is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are of amazing comfort with great details. The bed is probably the most comfortable I ever sleep in, and I travel a lot! The pool is superb, the gardens are very well kept and the whole place is like a oasis.
Breakfast is excellent with the best croissants in Luang Prabang. To try the Egg Benedict is a must. Lunch and dinner food was superb as well. The staff is the real asset to this Hotel. They are exceeding expectation from the moment you check in until you depart to the airport. They are doing absolutely everything to make you feel special. Front Office, House Keeping, Restaurant and Bar Service, everyone knows you by name and everyone is going the extra mile just to pamper you. Incredible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    65
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
114
281
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a fantastic time. The taxi initially took us to the wrong hotel so we ended up having to flag down a TukTuk to get there - not the best start. Once we arrived however we were quickly taken to our room in one of the colonial houses. Fabulous - very spacious and clean with a beautiful colonial interior plus air con ! The service in this hotel was 2nd to none. The shuttle to the town was always available and only took 5 minutes to get to the centre. The breakfast was served by very attentive waiters and the food superb.
Couldn't fault this hotel at all. Excellent

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I came from thailand and took a boat from chiang rai then took 2 day along the river down to Luang Phra bang

I stay there during last new year this residnece gave me 5 starsl of service and the food is great ,lovely swimming pool , I am enjoy the villa that is just 4 room in each just only the price quite high but it's good , the morning bread here is best.

their service is very very good too , I can say that is the best place in Luang Phra bang in stay

the staff is good also , I love the fire place in living roon too

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuntasun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just got back from 3 weeks in SE Asia. Stayed at the Luang Say Residence for 4 nights. The staff is excellent. The room, even though it faced a busy street, was quiet and spacious. The breakfast was great. The bed was comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am leaving today and wish I wasn't! This hotel is fabulous. The French colonial style is elegant as well as being very comfortable. The rooms are housed in buildings each with 4 rooms. We had 4 poster bed with mosquito nets ( we didn't have a problem with Mosquitos but the nets look gorgeous!) a lovely sitting area, balcony furnished with wicker furniture all in keeping with the elegant French colonial theme. Although the hotel is quite new you wouldn't know it! The gardens are wonderful and the swimming pool a haven to escape to after a busy day sightseeing. The food and service are as good as it gets and all staff delightful. Prices are reasonable and good value for money but do not fall into the cheap range - I believe you get what you pay for! If you want street food there is plenty on town! This is the place to stay if you are coming to luang prabang. Thank you to all the hard working and dedicated staff who made us feel so welcome and made a stay in Luang Prabang amazing. Loved it and hope very much to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DartmoorBarnOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Luang Say Residence on our tour of SE Asia and it was one of the highlights. The hotel is designed in a French Colonial style with spacious rooms of wood floors, verandahs, sitting areas, and large bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable and came with mosquito netting- romantic but not sure how necessary with the A/C. There were great reading lights and good pillows- the secret to a really good hotel.

Everything was well planned and thought out. The staff at the front desk were very kind and helpful with making dinner suggestions and reservations as well as calling for tuk-tuks as needed. The breakfasts on the verandah were delicious and we loved hearing the birds as we sipped our coffee.

The pool is lovely with plenty of sun chairs. My only suggestion is to have the pool staff be more attentive. We sometimes had to go search for someone to bring towels and drinks. But they were very helpful once they knew we were there. We'd go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTravelingTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is outstanding for its rooms, spa and dinners, we are ranking it as one of the best hotels we ever stayed in.
The staff are very professional and helpful, keeping the hotels and its gardens as clean as possible,

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Property: The Luang Say Residence
Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing