We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We loved this hotel. The rooms are spacious and full of character with comfortable beds. The hotel seemed to have thought of everything you might need. The food was delicious. Eggs benedict as part of the standard breakfast! The staff were so friendly and caring. Service was 5 star.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for The Luang Say Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 592 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in Luang Prabang. Its costly for Laos, but service is fantastic, and in the surrounds you feel like you've been transported to a different era. Lovely to sip a cocktail in the bar in the evening and enjoy lovely food.(pricey but lovely) We went with our 2year old, and although the staff were lovely, we felt it was not a place for kids really as his normal toddler antics did seem to disturb the lovely quiet ambiance. Would recommend more for people without kids, though as i said he was made welcome.. There was an older crowd there when we were there, im guessing this is in part a reflection of the prices, definitely not for backpackers..but maybe you might catch a flashpacker or honeymooner!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank River0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Our travel agent booked this hotel for us as part of a trip on the Mekong. We stayed five nights and loved every minute. It's rare that a hotel and your room looks as good as the website but this one is better. Firstly, the room. Large bathroom with two sinks and a separate toilet. Lovely toiletries and complimentary bug spray. Fluffy towels and robes. The bed was like a cloud, quite literally the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in in any hotel. Nice balcony off the bedroom, comfortable couch and flat screen TV. A mix of lighting in the room was a nice touch for ambience. We stayed in a Pioneer Suite in one of the buildings scattered about the grounds our teenagers were across the hallway so we had the whole of the ground floor. There were a couple more suites upstairs. The pool is near the main building adjacent to the bar. Very comfortable sun beds with umbrellas but some with little roofs which would be great if you didn't want to get any sun or had small children. Poolside service was five star with a nice selection of drinks reasonably priced and some poolside snacks available. Loud music from a karaoke bar across the street was a little annoying at times but was quite funny also. It finished early though.
The bar is lovely, great staff and decor with old style music (from the 40's and Jazz?) Breakfast each morning was one of the best things about the resort. Fruit course, beautifully prepared and a choice of eggs benedict, oatmeal or tradition Lao breakfast of soup with noodles and crispy rice cake on the side. A big basket of brioche and croissants accompanies this. There were other items for an extra charge but when my husband requested pouched eggs and bacon instead of the eggs benedict this was accommodated without a charge. We ate dinner on the last night in La Belle Epoque restaurant and welcomed the French inspired choices as we had been eating Asian food for a week. Loved the Foie Gras, perfectly cooked steaks and as nice a pasta dish as I've had anywhere.
The hotel is a five minutes from the centre but there is a free shuttle service to town every hour and a tuk tuk is about a dollar per person.
The service is great, they do anything they can to help and always with a big smile. The French manager is very charming too. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. My only gripe is that the sofas in the bar are rather uncomfortable (no arms, straight back) and the chairs on our terrace were equally uncomfortable but I'm splitting hairs now! Stay here if you can!

Room Tip: I would choose the Pioneer Suites if you do not absolutely need a bath as they are behind the main b...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Luxurious accommodation about 5 minute tuk-tuk ride from `downtown` Luang Prabang. Beautiful colonial architecture, attention to details in the design of rooms and resort in general, excellent service. Egg benedict and breakfast pastries are real treat. Staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. As part of the `small leading hotels of the world`, the hotel is warmly recommended for travelers who like to treat themselves with top quality accommodation.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank MattiHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Staying at the Luang Say Residence is an amazing experience. It's a rare combination of outstanding facilities, charme and excellent service. The hotel easily competes with the best in Asia.

Facilities: The large and luxurious rooms are in small buildings, scattered across the lovely garden. Each house features up to 4 rooms. Wonderful bed. Lots of details (water, fruit, tea/coffee, amenities, mood light, etc). Beautiful lobby and restaurant. Lovely bar with fireplace. Overall: spotless. Most guests are well dressed, adding to the charme of the place.

Food: Very good. Dinner is excellent. Nice menu with a French and Asian selection. Great quality. Nice presentation (I hope the Foie gras will disappear from the menu though; as I object this pretty cruel food). Breakfast is a la carte, like in other top hotels. Here, the French management is most visible. Wonderful croissants, brioches, etc. Also Eggs or Oatmeal. Great fresh juices. Other items for an additional charge (which is unusual and not appropriate for such a great place). Varity is probably a bit limited if you are used to things like cheese, ham etc., but ok for 2-3 days. Presentation again is excellent.

Service: outstanding. All staff are wonderful. Very friendly, personal, professional. We felt as wishes were anticipated. I spend a good half of my year in hotels - I have seen only few better places. Main challenge will be to keep up this very high standard. Excellent!

Overall, you will really like this place. We skipped a boat trip in order to enjoy the place for longer. Very recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This is one of the most elegant hotels we have had the pleasure to stay at. The room ,the grounds,the ambience,the staff,the breakfasts,the little treats beside our bed every night all added up to make this stay the highlights of our trip. Luang Say : You are now my number 1 hotel.

A special mention must be made of the staff in th bar and at breakfast : and yes the eggs benedict were fantastic and the porridge would have to be the best I've ever tasted.

I hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3ofusMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was an unplanned visit -- an escape from the flooding in Bangkok. The Luang Say Residence was perfect in every regard, when I badly needed refuge. Quite, elegant, immaculate, attentive. Sort of colonial atmosphere.

I loved the free granny bicycles for cruising around town -- not something I would normally have had the nerve to do, but Luang Prabang is super low key, including the drivers. I felt very safe, and its a great way to potter around between the endless Wats.

An unreserved 5.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooselipsSchenectady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $161 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing