We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
heathrow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel & Staff”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is an amazing hotel - first class restaurant & very caring staff who literally carried me around the hotel after hurting my ankle whilst on a sightseeing excursion. Such a beautiful & comfortable suite certainly speeds up the healing process. Would recommend suite 203 which has a balcony with mountain views. This hotel can also be booked as a package to include a 2 day Mekong River trip - highly recommended. Will definitely return to re-visit this lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traineebiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    65
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
114
285
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a relatively new property, and it will soon be the top choice in Luang Prabang. The property and rooms are extraordinary. The staff was fantastic -- they even came to my room with a birthday cake and sang! We had some challenges upon check-in because the room was not what we booked, and the initial response from the staff was poor, but they got it resolved and I think this is just a growing pain since the hotel is new. I HIGHLY recommend this property, and book now before their rates start competing with Le Residence!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lezwopeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

If you are travelling to Luang Prabang this property is certainly one to consider. Reception staff are very welcoming and extremely helpful. Breakfast service is wonderful - and for a nice change a la carte rather than buffet. Food of extremely high quality - also recommend you enjoy dinner one night - sensational. Rooms are located in blocks of 4, each building reminiscent of French Colonial times. The rooms are extremely spacious and stunningly appointed, rich timber floor boards, plasma TV, sitting area, very comfortable twin or king beds. Bathroom is large with double sinks, spacious stand alone shower and separate toilet. The hotel is located approximately 5 minutes from the centre of town however there is a complimentary shuttle on the hour or you can take a tuk tuk ride for less that $4. The swimming pool is large and attractive and a welcome relief from the summer heat.
All in all a great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhnafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute Savoie, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

A great place to relax and experience a French colonial style of living. The service was more than excellent. Everybody was so nice and helpful . We even had the whole entourage of the front desk staff to see us off when we left. Good choices of quality healthy breakfasts.
We have nothing negative about it and would certainly recommend this place. Might be pricey in peak season but there are bargains to be had off season and in a package with the Luang Say cruise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

It was everything it promised to be and more. We stayed 6 nights before going back to busy Hanoi. It was just so luxuries staying there. We stayed in a Pioneer Suite and enjoyed having our own private garden from our ground floor courtyard. Breakfast was amazingly good. We had dinner there twice and had no complaints. It was a special occasion for us, everything was perfect.The surprise treats each night were fun. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

What can I say? Amazing!

This place is something else, the staff, the rooms, the food, it’s got everything.

If you are travelling to Luang Prabang then this is the place to stay.

I have stayed in many places before & never experienced service like it.

As lots of people have said, try the eggs Benedict…

Truly a wonderful experience

Thank you Luangsay Residence

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nopparat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Arrived late at night obviously tired and it felt like coming home! Beautifully appointed old french colonial style suites but definately 5 star! Wonderful and friendly staff that were more than helpful.. Loved it and I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great so don't stress about which one is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Property: The Luang Say Residence
Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing