We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Wonderful Services... Recommend for Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luang Say Residence
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Colonial style located just few minute a way from Old Town. The resort have a great swimming pool... I stayed in a suite which face to the pool... loved it...

The room are big with sofa and big LCD TV... I traveled to few other place in Lao but most of them I can't access internet or very very slow, but this hotel have the fastest internet....

Great service at the restaurant and what i like the most, this hotel offer a very healthy breakfast.... Recommended if you visit Luang Prabang....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMinistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 600 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

Do yourself a favor and book at the Luang Say for your next LP vacation. As this was my first trip to Laos, I was unsure where to stay so it was so fortunate I decided to stay at the Luang Say. This newly opened hotel is filled with charm while offering maximum comfort and service. Eduardo and Mona offered first class attention to my group which will not be forgotten. The rooms are spacious yet elegant with amenities galore. Our room included breakfast which was hearty and delicious. My boyfriend raved about the eggs benedict claiming the hollandaise was the best he's ever had. Hotel location is a bit aways from town however they do offer shuttles to town as well as bicycles to use at your disposal. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saigonanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I would never speak highly of this hotel. I've learned never to stay at a NEW hotel in SE Asia. The service was deplorable, offensive management, dirty rooms, broken showers and no room service or spa, I would not recommend this property to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickyprincess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Things started off well. I opted for the reasonably priced airport pick-up. Sure I had a driver, but also a lovely Lao staff person that spoke English to chat with me on the way to the hotel.
The service was amazing. Not overly smothering. Just perfect. The rooms have the old French colonial feel but with the modern flourishes that could only come from a new construction. I would say they blended the best of both worlds. It is a few minute walk or bicycle ride from town, but I didn't find that an issue. They provide transport or it's a $2 tuktuk ride from town. Liked it so much I decided to extend my stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

A fantastic place to stay away from the main street of Luang Prabang. The staff couldn't do more to help us & the accommodation itself was out of this world. Massive room with divine beds, a bathroom that is bigger than my lounge with all the amenities required. Breakfast was also included in our package and it was more than enough. Fresh fruit, tea, coffee, pastries, porride, the works. Beautiful. Would love to go back there for my honeymoon one day. It was a dream! I

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koops31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

After day two of the two day river cruise on the Mekong conducted by Luang Say, we opted to stay with the company at this new hotel of theirs in Luang Prabang. It turned out to be an exceptional location!

The hotel was opened roughly in January 2011 so it is still quite new. It is set up in a more French Colonial style and consists of five buildings, I believe, each with four rooms. Our room was in the back of the property and was absolutely stunning. Wooden floors, a huge walk in shower and a large balcony were just some of the things that stuck out.

The hotel staff is great and seems to want to help you with seeing their city. The hotel offers up free bicycles that we used every single day to get around Luang Prabang. They offer a full restaurant and a spectacular breakfast.

If you are going to be in Luang Prabang, you can not go wrong by choosing this location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were some of the first guests to stay at this newly opened colonial style hotel and I must say we were very impressed on many levels.
The building suits Luang Prabang perfectly - heritage splendour cleverly combined with contemporary comforts. We stayed in one of the Pioneer suites, which was a private with a dreamy four poster bed, a bathroom that inspired extended indulgence and a balconies that was perfect for sundowners gazing at the mountains that surround the town.
The extensive menu includes fabulous local and international cuisine, all skillfully prepared and beautifully presented. With Eggs Benedict on the breakfast menu and fine wines from the cellar for dinner, you can really live the high life enjoyed by the city's French administrators.
The staff were professional without being too formal. Miss Kee, who met us at the airport was a great ambassador for Laotian hospitality and the team even surprised me with a birthday cake, bursting into song when we arrived back late after shopping at the night market.
As one of few real luxury hotels in Luang Prabang, Lunag Say Residence stands out from the crowd. We strongly recommend combining your stay with a cruise on the Mekong (you can organise the whole trip in advance through the hotel) and also stay overnight at the Luang Say lodge further up the river. It makes forr the perfect blend of culture, nature and adventure without missing out on the finer things in life.
This was my third trip to Launag Prabang and Luang Say Residence is a definitely welcome addition to the accommodation options. Great pool too.

Room Tip: Suites, four poster beds, huge bathrooms, great fd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangkokBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
593 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $226 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing