We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khoum Xiengthong Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khoum Xiengthong Guest House
Ranked #71 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Loved this boutique hotel. The moment you walk into this oasis you feel at home. The gorgeous dark wood floors and 4-post beds add some local flavor to your stay. The bathrooms could use a mild make-over, but overall the guest house is lovely and I'd recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Great if you have children as rooms are extremely large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Koeln
Level Contributor
233 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nice family run hotel, not far from the Xieng Thong monastery. You might hear the monks singing, when you are sitting in the nice garden for breakfast or a sundowner.
Very friendly welcome, very nice people. If you are lucky, they will invite for a home made Lao-Lao.

I had a nice spacy room with a comfortable big bed, mosquito net, A/C, fridge, flat-TV (which you really don’t need in this beautiful city)

The hotel offers complementary internet and bicycles. Good breakfast a la carte.

Tip: if you continue your way by bus to Vientiane you might choose a seat on the right side of the bus, where you have a better view on the breath-taking scenery. Make sure that you had a good breakfast and if needed a pill: the road is VERY winding (but worth while!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_Travelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Set in a quaint garden between two monasteries, this is a wonderful place to spend a few days. Quality standard of rooms varies significantly, so make sure you are clear on what you are booking. Also, the floors in the main building have very poor insulation and on the ground floor, you get the squeaking from the second floor -- if you are a light sleeper, insist on a room upstairs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London and Hanoi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We enjoyed the two mights we spent here in November 2011. The guest house has an AMAZING location between Wat Xieng Thong and another Wat, at the peaceful end of Luang Prabang town where all the temples are. Depending on how you look at it, this has the advantage/disadvantage that you are woken by the Wat's gong followed my monks chanting at 4am.

Rooms are tastefully appointed in hardwood, though the lack of carpets means noise transmits through the floor/ceiling (the guest house has two stories). Breakfast was good and was included, as is free use of bicycles. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanoiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, U.K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stopped here while travelling through Laos on our honeymoon. We were on a budget and this place was much better than others we looked at in our price range. The family were really helpful, the location was great and the rooms were light and airy. We ate breakfast in the garden everyday and they even did our laundry for free!

A great peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bassfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
6.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#24 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
6.1 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sackarinh Guest Room
Sackarinh Guest Room
#162 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
#81 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.7 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
6.2 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#4 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khoum Xiengthong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khoum Xiengthong Guest House

Property: Khoum Xiengthong Guest House
Address: Sisalenrmsak Road | Ban Phone Houang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Khoum Xiengthong Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khoum Xiengthong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing