We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Destination!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Palais Juliana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Palais Juliana
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Destination!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I enjoyed this hotel and I am only 10. There are not many kid play areas around but I had lots of fun playing with my brother and sister! There is a big and very fun pool to play in. If you want to relax, there is a library where you can read a book in peace. There are also massage huts near the pool!! The food is excellent. There is a buffet breakfast and lunch / dinner is very good (although quite slow - we are in Laos). The rooms are very nice. You can choose to have a bungalow near a small lake (usually quite quiet) or a room near the pool. This was a lovely place to stay and I recommend you stay here too!

Room Tip: I recommend you go for a ground floor room. They is a path from the small ground floor balcony area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amprjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    52
    28
    15
    4
See reviews for
31
66
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed couple of nights at this beautiful hotel which is a 10 min drive from city center. Hotel offers a free shuttle to center.
Pool is great, rooms are clean , nicely decorated and have decent sized bathroom.
Breakfast buffet is large with indoor/outdoor seating.
Would stay here again at next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guido_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel / resort of Le Palais Juliana seemed pretty new when I was there. The greenery around the hotel was all very young. The location of this hotel was some minutes outside of the Luang Prabang town but hey if you want a swimming pool at your hotel of choice in this place, you will have to stay a little outside of the old town as the old town does not have hotels with swimming pools ... so travellers to Luang Prabang, should understand this and put "location" in local perspective.

That said, the location for me was still ok, only some minutes drive to the town and a shuttle us was available. Even if it did end a little early at 9.30pm, transport can still be arranged on your own.

We were introduced to a tuk tuk driver when we were there and we ended up almost hiring him for the days we were there. For the early shuttles to the town for alms giving with the monks, and for our late drives back to Le Palais Juliana after our dinners in town. We also stuck to him for our rides to the waterfall and to other sights in Luang Prabang too!

At Le Palais Juliana, I liked the peace and quiet away from the city. The room was of good size and faced the pool as well, looking out further into the horizon. It was really relaxing staying there and often we had the pool all to ourselves as well.

Breakfast spread was good and no complaints. If the weather is good, sit outside for brekky if you can. Enjoy the cool morning air, its fresh.

The front office staff were helpful and some went over and beyond to ensure that all our trip arrangements were met. So we were grateful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldivaritagoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

the hotel is lovely ,staff willing to help the rooms were lovely and beds vey comfortable and easy acess to pool which was very relaxing. It is out of town but the shuttle service was excellent and took us into town at 9.30 am and returned at 2pm to relax at pool and then back into town at 5pm for dinner then picked us up againat 9pm so had plenty of time to check out market and have dinner. breakfast was lovely plenty of selection . There wasnt many people staying there which was great. didnt feel empty felt that we had the resort to out self was a truly very relaxing. what a beauitful place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
387 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel is exclusive, beautiful and nicely designed.
The room was great, with a huge bed and a view to the pool.
Big flat screen TV, free wifi. Extensive grounds, a huge pool and small decorative lakes add to the overall impression.
Air conditioning , though , was too strong and we could not manage to set at higher temperatures.
Location on the town's outskirts is also a draw back.
Food prices are high, almost western levels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Room is good, staff are nice and friendly.
Restaurant is a bit slow.
A bit far from the city.
Design is excellent.

Room Tip: Do not choose to stay at the room facing the pool ( I did). Children are too loud at the pool somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed 2 night 24th-26th Dec 2011.

Pros
(1)Room was well above expectation. Room was comfortable and bathroom was excellent.

(2)Breakfast spread and quality was reasonable. Love the croissant and bacon.

(3) the Kantoke set dinner was simply awesome. They had 2 choices, both was excellent especially for the Asian taste bud with appreciation for authentic spicy Laos/Thai cuisine. Chao Nang Restaurant staff was well trained namely Bang and Cambodian male waiter(forgot his name).

(4) The reception front desk staff was ok.

Cons

(1) Housekeeping needs training and needs to be extra careful on inventory reporting. Had an unpleasant episode during checkout.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cicak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.1 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Juliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Juliana

Property: Le Palais Juliana
Address: Tcho Phetsalath Street | Ban-Sangkalok, Khet-Sangkalok, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Palais Juliana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Le Palais Juliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais Juliana Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing