We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps I Should've Ordered Lao Food...”
Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Ranked #24 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perhaps I Should've Ordered Lao Food...”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had the Penne Tuna for 46,000 kip where (8,000 kip = USD1.00), Sangkhagna Ning Nam for 26,000 kip (dessert, a flan with a strange ginger flavor), and Iced Coffee for 15,000 kip. I ordered dishes which I deemed "safe" because I was so hungry it wasn't the appropriate time to choose anything more "adventurous". The servings were generous and they give you a loaf of bread while you wait. The taste, especially that of the pasta, is average. Perhaps I wouldn't say the same if I ordered Lao food. Unfortunately, I didn't go back a second time because I wanted to explore other restaurants during my stay in Luang Prabang.

It's incredibly hot to eat al fresco especially during lunch or mid-afternoon. Having passed by Coconut Garden at night, I think dining around that time would be more lovely. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makemineaventi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    466
    173
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Decent local, average western food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good Mekong fish in banana leaf but middling western food (pizza and pasta) suggest you are probably better sticking to the local cuisine here. Unlike other reviewers we were less fussed about the ambience, though there is a garden at the back of the restaurant that might be a bit better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monkey-and-Sprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Quite big, nice layout, pretty much ALL tourist - but this seemed to be the scene looking into many of the restaurants. I had a stir fry which tasted good, but spaghetti noodles always leave me uninspired. My wife had the pumpkin soup, tasty. Prices are fine. Wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soap_In_The_Dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely the best restaurant we ate at in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Service was excellent. Go through the hallway to the back courtyard and eat near the waterfall / pond - so relaxing and just a wonderful atmosphere with the lanterns and all. Great selection of food - yummy phad Thai. Service is superb. Very polite and charming staff. Loved It !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CuteNsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
243 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ate there as part of a group of nine. We chose a variety of dishes, shared them around and everyone was happy. Not sure it was anything special, but happy to return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing