We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal”
Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Ranked #25 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ate there as part of a group of nine. We chose a variety of dishes, shared them around and everyone was happy. Not sure it was anything special, but happy to return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    473
    178
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice ambience”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

During our vice days stay in Luang Prabang we went here twice. It is the perfect place to relax after a day of walking around in the city. They have comfortable seats (especially upstairs on the balcony you can enjoy a nice view!). We loved the food here. Especially the pumkin soup was delicious!
The staff is nice. Clean bathrooms. Good wifi Internet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed environment”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Following great meals in Le Cafe Bat Van Sene and L'elephant, we were happy to try out another restaurant in the group. Great mix of western and local food kept small children and grown-ups all happy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ange_in_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice setting at the rear -OK food”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant has a central location with the rear garden a particularly nice place to be. We went for some Italian comfort food and it was OK. Can't comment on the Lao menu.

Helpful?
Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solo experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Based upon the assumption that a busy restaurant is a good restaurant and having passed a number of places that seemed low occupancy, I checked to see if this place to take on a solo traveller. All tables were taken so I sat at the bar.
The place was thronging with people of all nationalities and ages, families with children of early teens to couples in their 60s. An array of palettes to satisfy.
The service provided to all, seemed efficient and there were plenty of staff to support the number of hungry people eating late.
The food, Laotian, was excellent, tasty and well presented. I don't believe in travelling thousands of miles to eat something I can get at home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing