We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a relaxed environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Ranked #24 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Following great meals in Le Cafe Bat Van Sene and L'elephant, we were happy to try out another restaurant in the group. Great mix of western and local food kept small children and grown-ups all happy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ange_in_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    453
    171
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice setting at the rear -OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant has a central location with the rear garden a particularly nice place to be. We went for some Italian comfort food and it was OK. Can't comment on the Lao menu.

Helpful?
Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solo experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Based upon the assumption that a busy restaurant is a good restaurant and having passed a number of places that seemed low occupancy, I checked to see if this place to take on a solo traveller. All tables were taken so I sat at the bar.
The place was thronging with people of all nationalities and ages, families with children of early teens to couples in their 60s. An array of palettes to satisfy.
The service provided to all, seemed efficient and there were plenty of staff to support the number of hungry people eating late.
The food, Laotian, was excellent, tasty and well presented. I don't believe in travelling thousands of miles to eat something I can get at home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Inconsistent and Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice. On the first occasion the service and food were acceptable for the price point - roughly 15 USD per head including drinks. We ate Lao food which was tasty, and a pasta plate for our toddler. Second time round the service was pretty poor, beer was warm, and we were overcharged for our toddler's plate of plain pasta. Would only return for the stuffed bamboo shoots which were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelsinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good cuisine, nice garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very comfortable place for dinner, when the outdoor seating make you appreciate the freshness of night.
Good cuisine, mostly with authentic lao dishes.
Good service, reasonably priced.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jczorglub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing