We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool backyard, clean place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Ranked #24 of 202 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool backyard, clean place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Large choice of Laos and Western food, limon tart to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargauxetJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    454
    171
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average Food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Ate here a few times and it was 'just ok', not the best not the worst. Pricing was a little high for Asia, but service was reasonably friendly by Laos standards, and the cakes were tasty.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ade-n-Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Curry I've Tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was the best curry I've ever had. I've been thinking about it since I had it! I had the red and my wife the green... although I finished her's as well. Just under $4 including an order of rice. Excellent!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We'd been told that that this is the best restaurant in luang prabang for Lao food. Our conclusion after this meal was that Lao food is decidedly uninteresting (and we went for the expensive taster menu). Their idea of spicing and heat seemed to be simply adding whole chilis to the sauces. The following evening we went to Tamarind which made us realise that Lao food can be delicious and that the problem was coconut garden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wanted to find a good breakfast deal (with wifi)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was the perfect place for me....during the day though. At night it's a different "hip" vibe, not so good for getting work done. Wish the coffee was a bit better....but it's not too bad. When I first ordered the "little set" for breakfast, they brought me two small baguettes instead of the one big one I'm used to. I just assumed this was normal, so when they didn't bring two out the next few days(only one small one) I let them know I needed the second one. Well I should have checked my receipts instead of just paying, because I have been being charged extra for the second one. Today they brought 3 out...and it turns out I was charged for the extra two. I specifically requested just what it comes with. They did correct the problem, but didn't seem too happy about it. For the most part the service and food has been really great though. If they upgrade their coffee and include a normal baguette with this breakfast deal it would surely be a hit in my book!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IDreamedOfThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing