We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days recently at this hotel in June. The welcome extended to us when we arrived by the staff and the General Manager was warm and genuine. Throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Our spotlessly clean superior room afforded a panorama of the Luang Prabang in the valley below. We ate a few times at the hotel and the mix of local and Laos cuisine was extensive and varied and to a very high standard. Touring for 3 weeks in Indochina we can honestly say that the LP View hotel gave us the most relaxing time of our vacation. The regular complimentary shuttle bus to and from the village below allows you to easily commute if you so wish. We fully intend to revisit this wonderful hotel to once again enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have their front balconies looking out over the valley below. Standard rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnvilDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYYLOUNGE, General Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Both,
Many thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure to welcome you and help you along the way,
great to have a chat from People from back home and Scotland in particular.
we are all looking forward to welcome you both back again in the near future!

do keep in touch,
Best regards,
John Morris Williams
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    64
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
115
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just came back from a 3 night stay and couldn't fault the place. After a warm welcome, I was taken to my room, which was bigger than expected. During my stay most of the staff was lovely and went out of their way to be of service, especially at the spa. My back muscles were all tense and the therapist had me untied within an hour: great hands... The room maids did a good job of cleaning up after me (although they did forget to refill my shower gel one day), I loved the view from my room and the free shuttle to town worked like clockwork. Next time when I go back, I'll be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms looked like they had more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doeke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYYLOUNGE, General Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Both,

Many thanks for your great review here on Trip Advisor, the team is thrilled by your feedback , it gives them a push to try and achieve more for our guests during their stay.
our apologies for not filling up our bottle in the shower.
we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

John Morris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this resort and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is great, overlooking the city. The room was cleaned well everyday, the restaurant's food was great, both Laos and Western. Most of all enjoyed the wonderful friendliness from the Laos staff. We were able to enjoy touring the city everyday. We hope to come back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Morris W, General Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Both,

Thank you for taking your time to write a great review for us, a review like yours gives us the drive to achieve more, we have circulated your review with all our staff they are thrilled.

we are all looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,
john Morris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is our 1st trip to Laos and we chose to stay at this hotel as it is located on a hill and overlooking the valley below. We were pleasantly taken in by the panaromic view of the city below and it was really awesome during the morning and at Sunset. Our Superior Room was clean, spacious and well appointed with a comfortable Kingsize bed and good size bathtub.
Staff are very friendly and ready to lend a helping hand. The food quality is good and Mr John Morris the General Manager was helpful to ensure our stay was comfortable. The swimming pool is lovely and the Pool Terrace & Bar is a great place to relax over a nice dinner.The Hotel shuttle service to town gives a nice touch to their guest service experience. We had massage at the hotel's Champa Hom Spa. it was a pleasant experience with the trained and friendly Masseuse. We will return again to stayon
our next visit to Laos.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Daniel D. Chua
Bangkok-Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuteDan_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYYLOUNGE, General Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Daniel Chua,

It was a pleasure to welcome you both to Luang prabang view Hotel, reviews like yours gives us pride in doing what we are meant to do and that is giving service to our valued guests, our staff are delighted on your feedback as well as the Management team.

we are looking forward to your next visit in the near future, as Bangkok is only a short hop away.
do keep in touch.

Best regards,

John Morris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Just had four nights in this beautiful property and can honestly say it was perfect. I didnt mind that it was a bit removed from the centre as there was nothing better than grabbing a bicycle and cruising aroung this gorgeous town. Service was impeccable and the food in the restaurant was delicious. My pioneer suite was enormous and the bed was very hard to get out of . Love that they have a pillow menu! The concierge, Santi, was most helpful in organising my day trips and nothing was a problem. Beautiful grounds, pool and architecture. Loved the whole thing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYYLOUNGE, General Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Victoria B,

As i am the new manger and only been here a few weeks, i would like to thank you for a wonderful review and feedback, i have discussed all your review with the team and they are thrilled, this gives us a drive to push and achieve more for our guests.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future don't forget to take a look at our new web site mid of April.

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a nice little place. Away from the craziness/main strip and great view of the city. Rooms are very nice. We were visiting during December – it was very cold. We arranged for a heater in our room but still was very cold still. But, supposed to have been the coldest in decades (which we believe coming from Chicago) Had some problems with the water in the bathroom. Sometimes there was no water, sometimes it was cold, no pressure and other times it was perfect and high pressure. Had a mind of its own, so heads up. Food at hotel was ok. Service was great, staff was very friendly. Shuttle to and from town, so very convenient. Nice pool for warm months. Visiting on our honeymoon in Thailand for 21 days - we stayed in Luang Prabang for 4 days – but thought 3 days would have been PLENTY!!!! Either way, had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYYLOUNGE, General Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a a wonderful review and feedback, i have copied the feedback to all departments, reviews like this gives us the push to drive forwards and strive to achieve more.

I am new in this post though i would like to give my thanks.

hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Luang Prabang View Hotel in November 2013 and we absolutely loved it. The hotel is very clean, quiet and the location is just perfect, giving you a lovely view over the valley. The staff... I could not praise more! Just amazing, and so extremely nice and helpful!
The hotel has a free shuttle to the city centre and you can book it also outside of the normal schedule and it still will be free. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are great. We went for the standard room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYYLOUNGE, General Manager at Luang Prabang View Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Both,

Thank you for taking your time to write a wonderful review, we are all delighted that we are able to make your stay a memorable one, and all feedback is passed down to our teams.

we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.7 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang View Hotel

Property: Luang Prabang View Hotel
Address: Phou Meo, Thai Lao Friendship Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Shinta Mani)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#17 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luang Prabang View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming hideaway of Luang Prabang is one of Indochina’s gems and the showpiece of Laos. Designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1995, the well preserved city is more of a sleepy backwater than a modern metropolis. Wedged into the confluence of the mighty Mekong and lesser Khan river, Luang Prabang's peaceful location sets the pace for the unhurried way of life in the second largest city in Laos. Its grid-like road network makes it virtually impossible to get lost, and the entire town can be covered on foot in a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luang Prabang View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing