We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel was called the Shinta Marni but on the 12.12.12. when we were there, a great celebration was held for the Grand Reopening! Great spot, good breakfast, lovely large room, and very pleasant welcoming staff. The pool has a 360 deg. view and is huge. A shuttle service was in place, and ran to time. All in all a relaxing place to stay after the frenetic pace of other places.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, so dont think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriscokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 307 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great property. The room is large with a nice terrace. After a day's of activities, great place to recuperate. The spa has great massage. Excellent service from all the very friendly. Distance from town centre was not a problem as shuttle service was efficient and accommodating. Enjoyed the daily breakfast with a nice noodle soup. Large swimming pool with a view over the area that can be enjoyed if tired of visiting the town and shopping.
Recommend highly this place.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is a true oasis. After having cycled through Vietnam and Luang Prabang, this resort is a place for complete relaxation and rejuvenation. English is not the best among the staff, but they bend over backwards to accommodate. Small ant problem in our room however, but does not detract from the overall cleanliness and comfortable accommodations. The bedding was the best. I don't know how high the thread count was, but it was both crisp and soft.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel after a 7 day bike ride from Hanoi. Since the accommodations were quite primitive along the high country in Laos, it was a treat to land at this graceful and well-appointed property. Warning: the hotel sits on a hill, 7-10 minutes from city center. As a result there is not anything around that you can walk to. Be prepared to take the complimentary hotel shuttle or a "taxi" to eat, shop or sightsee. (around $5 US with tip). In exchange for that inconvenience you get blissful isolation and quietness. If you want to walk everywhere from your hotel, this is not the place to stay. I only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was very good. They offered both Western and Asian fare. With some guidance and coaching, the Barista was able to produce a decent Latte. The pool area and spa are sleek and modern and the pool offers a beautiful view of the city. The staff was gracious and accommodating. Wake up early in the morning and enjoy the sunrise from the pool area....the smokey haze of the city gives off quite an ethereal light show.

Room Tip: I did not pay up for a room with a "better view" but was pleased with my view anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxhurdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Definitely the best hotel we stayed in during our June, 2012 trip to Laos. Large rooms with great views. The helpfulness and positive attitude of the staff was outstanding--best service we encountered in Laos. Staff responded immediately to our needs. Breakfast in the dining food was delicious. Landscaping around the pool was in progress. My 8 year old grandson swam in the pool every morning.

Room Tip: We were on the second level--golf carts were available if we needed one, but walking to the lobby wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

When we booked this hotel, it was still the Shinta Mani, affiliated with a property in Siam Reap (Cambodia). By the time we arrived, it had just re-launched as the Luang Prabang View Resort.

Despite everything (and everyone, it seems) being new, the staff were incredibly welcoming and eager to please.

There were a couple of things which impressed us particularly:

1. For those who do not wish to be in the relative hurly-burly of LP itself, this is possibly the absolute best location in which to stay. It is up at the top of a hill, with 360 degree views, serene by day and with little twinkling lights at night. It also catches a wonderful breeze, so quite cool for much of the day.

2. The pool is hands-down the absolute BEST I have ever encountered, anywhere in the world. At the top of the hill, it is HUGE and clean and feels like you're floating on a cloud. The pool is so big we spotted it easily from our plane on our way out!

3. The staff are tentative and young and still finding their way, but SO helpful, enthusiastic, willing to please that it is almost embarrassing! The level of English language spoken is remarkable, across every tier of staff, from front-of-house to restaurants to housekeeping. Well done, LP View Resort, for recruiting such a great bunch of people!

We were there in the midst of the Lao New Year celebration, and were forewarned that restaurant service would be at a minimum that day. So what happened? Well, incredibly, the staff warmly swept us into their staff party, where we had people thrusting plates of food into our hands, encouraging us to join in. We enjoyed the festivities, but more importantly, we were touched to have been included in what would normally have been out of our reach.

Other items of note:

The restaurant did some really lovely dishes, including a Lao sampler plate at dinner which was really delicious. Breakfasts were amazing, and included pretty much whatever you might have asked for.

The room - which was spacious and had a fantastic view - was serviced regularly and incredibly well.

Bicycles were provided, as was a regular shuttle into 'town', which meant little shopping and sightseeing excursions were easily accomplished.

As with so many Lao hotels, prices are quite high, but you get what you pay for. If you want immaculate room with amazing views, nice food, the world's best swimming pool and helpful, enthusiastic service, this is the place for you. If we ever return to LP, this will be our home for the duration!

And just a hint: there is much debate about whether to be a part of the early morning alms giving to the local monks in LP town. We are "a little bit Buddhist" so we felt it was something we should take part in (rather than just watching from a distance) and were very happy we did, although we DID get conned a bit by some local hustlers and overspent on the offerings. It was still a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and one which I will never regret partaking in.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a terrace suite as these have wonderful views and are very spacious. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

It is impossible to fault the Shinta Mani. A superb 5 star hotel in a breath taking location. The accommodation was superb. Unfortunately, the room safe was too small for my laptop. The hotel provides a shuttle into town, and that is where we ate out. The whole experience was great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
795 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 70 in Luang Prabang
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
722 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang View Hotel

Address: Phou Meo, Thai Lao Friendship Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Shinta Mani)
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#17 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $118 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luang Prabang View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming hideaway of Luang Prabang is one of Indochina’s gems and the showpiece of Laos. Designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1995, the well preserved city is more of a sleepy backwater than a modern metropolis. Wedged into the confluence of the mighty Mekong and lesser Khan river, Luang Prabang's peaceful location sets the pace for the unhurried way of life in the second largest city in Laos. Its grid-like road network makes it virtually impossible to get lost, and the entire town can be covered on foot in a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luang Prabang View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing